Community @ The Turning Gate

Support community for TTG plugins and products.

You are not logged in.

#1 2019-04-04 04:55:22

pideja
Member
From: Montreal
Registered: 2013-02-26
Posts: 1,029

merging sub-sites

I think it's time...

I have a few sub-sites and I would like to have them all within a main "portal".

The main URL:pideja.ca would have galleries or sections that include the pages already created: the "theater" section would group these sub-sites: pideja.ca/tnm, pideja.ca/duc, pideja.ca/rdv, pideja.ca/rmb and so on...

Then, there would be other sections like "portraits", "travel", etc...

Is there a way I can move, within Publisher, these sub-sites to pideja.ca? Do I have to republish everything?
Of course, all the URLs will have to be changed, in the settings section.

Online

#2 2019-04-04 07:55:36

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 16,732
Website

Re: merging sub-sites

If all of these are using their own Publisher instance, then there's no way (that I know of) to combine them. You'll have to republish as far as I can see.

You might take a look at the Lightroom Voyager plugin though to see if it can do that.

But because URLs are changing, you’re going to have to republish regardless.


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Backlight 2 test site, Pangolin test site

Offline

#3 2019-04-08 07:08:41

pideja
Member
From: Montreal
Registered: 2013-02-26
Posts: 1,029

Re: merging sub-sites

Thank you. I will look into that Voyager plugin, but as you suggest, I'm sure I'll have to republish everything.

Online

#4 2019-06-20 01:59:30

pideja
Member
From: Montreal
Registered: 2013-02-26
Posts: 1,029

Re: merging sub-sites

I installed the Voyager plugin but for now, I can't get it to move published site files to another published site. I am waiting for info from the plugin creator.
But, I tried creating an album set, then an album in the destination site (in TTG Publisher) and then dragged the images from the site gallery I wanted to transfer into the destination album I had created. Seems to work.

Original sub-site: pideja.ca/rdv

Destination site: pideja.ca and then look into /galleries and you will see a thumbnail marked Rideau Vert and voilà! the site has been transferred. I may not have invented anything, but I'm kinda glad I found this technique.

It remains to be seen if I'll be able to transfer larger sites, but it should work.

Online

#5 2019-06-20 04:05:43

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 16,732
Website

Re: merging sub-sites

Voyager works in Lightroom. It does not move images on web sites. It will export Publisher collections from one catalog that you can then import into another catalog


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Backlight 2 test site, Pangolin test site

Offline

#6 2019-09-10 23:59:35

pideja
Member
From: Montreal
Registered: 2013-02-26
Posts: 1,029

Re: merging sub-sites

I'm back with web site design-consolidation.

I have multiple subsites and I want to have them all within sort of a portal:pideja.ca

Still relatively early in the design stage so many issues to be addressed.
For now, I'd like some help in the positioning of the images on the home page. At the moment there are too many and they have different shapes but it's the exercise that counts: I want to "center" the images. That is to say that the position should be by the center rather than the top-bottom or left-right.
By positioning by the middle of the image, the size would not matter.

I'm using Daniel's code found here:https://danielleu.com/blog/2016/07/addi … sed-pages/

I have altered the style section of the code this way:

<style>
div#slideshow {
max-width: 1440px;
margin-right: auto;
margin-left: 30px;
margin-top: 80px;
object-position: 20px 20%;
}
.fadein { position:relative; }
.fadein img { position:absolute; left:0; top:0; transition:opacity 5s; opacity:1; }
.fadein img.is-hidden { opacity:0; }
</style>

But these settings apply to the left side and the top only.


Is centering the image possible?

Last edited by pideja (2019-09-10 23:59:49)

Online

#7 2019-09-11 00:39:25

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 16,732
Website

Re: merging sub-sites

But these settings apply to the left side and the top only.

This is because you've got margin-left and margin-top that have values. And the settings apply to the slideshow div, not the images themselves
if you want it centered left to right, then both margin-left and margin-right for the slideshow div should be "auto"

I don't know that you'll be able to center the images themselves top to bottom.

You'll probably have better luck by using either Theater's Vegas slide show or Galleria.


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Backlight 2 test site, Pangolin test site

Offline

#8 2019-09-11 01:15:02

pideja
Member
From: Montreal
Registered: 2013-02-26
Posts: 1,029

Re: merging sub-sites

You'll probably have better luck by using either Theater's Vegas slide show or Galleria.

So then I should use a theatre module as a home page?

Or trim all images identically and play around with margins and/or padding.

Last edited by pideja (2019-09-11 01:17:31)

Online

#9 2019-09-11 01:44:18

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 16,732
Website

Re: merging sub-sites

Either way.
Insert a Vegas slide show album in the home page or make all images the same size and dimension.


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Backlight 2 test site, Pangolin test site

Offline

#10 2019-09-11 02:26:03

pideja
Member
From: Montreal
Registered: 2013-02-26
Posts: 1,029

Re: merging sub-sites

Am now "playing around" with the Vegas-slideshow option. The fades are a bit crude but the main thing is that it does not look or function the same on Chrome or on Firefox. How can this be?

Last edited by pideja (2019-09-11 02:31:06)

Online

#11 2019-09-11 02:30:01

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 16,732
Website

Re: merging sub-sites

Vegas looks and functions the same on both Chrome and Firefox for me. I'm looking at your site in both browsers. It looks the same.


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Backlight 2 test site, Pangolin test site

Offline

#12 2019-09-11 02:32:34

pideja
Member
From: Montreal
Registered: 2013-02-26
Posts: 1,029

Re: merging sub-sites

On my machine, the Firefox version takes forever to scroll thru the images. Fade values look like 10 or 15 seconds! On Chrome. it's more like 5 seconds.

Also, I think I'll try to make a slideshow with Lightroom. That way, I'll have a MPEG-4 file that I can format for web and be sure of the fades. Might also include music!

Online

#13 2019-09-11 02:40:12

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 16,732
Website

Re: merging sub-sites

you've got your slide delay set to 60,000 milliseconds (60 seconds). Try changing it to 6000

it still acts the same for me in either Chrome or Firefox. each image is up for about 60 seconds before fading into the next


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Backlight 2 test site, Pangolin test site

Offline

#14 2019-09-11 03:16:57

pideja
Member
From: Montreal
Registered: 2013-02-26
Posts: 1,029

Re: merging sub-sites

Well, I made a Lightroom slideshow (with music) and I am using that now. Looks much better although I could do without the occasional jerk will fading. I get this from time to time in Lightroom, don't know why. Also, I think I'll ditch that movement in the images,

Online

#15 2019-09-11 03:28:20

pideja
Member
From: Montreal
Registered: 2013-02-26
Posts: 1,029

Re: merging sub-sites

Any way to get that video to loop, start over ...? That is to say have the video start upon landing on the page and run "continuously"...

Last edited by pideja (2019-09-11 03:35:23)

Online

#16 2019-09-11 04:20:35

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 16,732
Website

Re: merging sub-sites

the Lightroom slide show? It's not working on your site. For me anyway.
There's a Repeat Slide show checkbox in the Playback section. I don't see an autostart option though. but I don't use the Lightroom Slideshow so I might be overlooking something.


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Backlight 2 test site, Pangolin test site

Offline

#17 2019-09-11 22:49:39

pideja
Member
From: Montreal
Registered: 2013-02-26
Posts: 1,029

Re: merging sub-sites

I'm setting the video aside for now. I realize that I have to choose/format the images. And if I want music, more thought has to go into this matter... The size, positioning of the video will be easier to establish once the images are formatted correctly.
Back to this later.

So, I'm moving on to the vertical navigation and masthead. I'll start a new thread...

Online

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB