Community @ The Turning Gate

Support community for TTG plugins and products.

You are not logged in.

#1 2018-09-12 18:10:33

tonygamble
Member
Registered: 2013-11-28
Posts: 140

Does Backlight 2 work on a LiteSpeed server?

I'm interested in buying the new Backlight that is not reliant on Lightroom.

Your specification about FTP servers refers to Apache and I have enquired with my guys. They came back with the following:-

"Our shared servers are LiteSpeed unfortunately rather than Apache, and this CMS seems to reference just Apache. I'd recommend checking with them to see if Litespeed also works for this software."

Will I be OK or will the software not run?

Many thanks

Tony

Offline

#2 2018-09-12 20:10:32

Ben
Moderator
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2012-09-29
Posts: 3,776

Re: Does Backlight 2 work on a LiteSpeed server?

Hi Tony, to be honest, I have no idea.  We've never developed it with LiteSpeed in mind or testing against it.  The main Apache-specific functionality that Backlight uses is URL-rewriting via .htaccess files.  Litespeed also supports .htaccess files, but as we haven't tested against that server I can't say for sure that it would run properly.

Offline

#3 2018-09-12 20:40:20

tonygamble
Member
Registered: 2013-11-28
Posts: 140

Re: Does Backlight 2 work on a LiteSpeed server?

Thanks Ben.

As you sell Backlight 2 on a 'no returns' basis - about which I fully understand - I will leave purchasing it for a while.

As Matthew knows I was a TTG user for a while but got fed up with the overhead created by Lightroom. I have muddled along with JuiceBox in the meantime. Learning Backlight from scratch will be a challenge I am tempted to postpone and maybe by then someone will have tried it on LiteSpeed.

Thanks again.

Tony

Offline

#4 2018-09-12 20:46:28

Ben
Moderator
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2012-09-29
Posts: 3,776

Re: Does Backlight 2 work on a LiteSpeed server?

Hi Tony, Backlight 2 is a world away from our LR-based plugins in terms of ease of installation and updating.

I'd like to test it in a web server-agnostic way, but am quite limited in time at this point.  Hopefully before too long!

Offline

#5 2018-09-12 20:58:46

tonygamble
Member
Registered: 2013-11-28
Posts: 140

Re: Does Backlight 2 work on a LiteSpeed server?

Thanks Ben,

Fully understand about the time pressure.

Tony

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB