Community @ The Turning Gate

Support community for TTG plugins and products.

You are not logged in.

#1 2018-01-10 05:50:31

hjrw
Member
From: Peoria (Phoenix) AZ
Registered: 2012-10-01
Posts: 168

Panorama

I have a number of stitched panorama shots that I would like to display in Backlight with scrolling, so that the image can be larger.  Is this possible within the Theater module or do I need external software to enable the display of the images?

I was able to display these in CE4 using Stage.

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

-Herschel

Offline

#2 2018-01-10 07:15:20

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 14,232
Website

Re: Panorama

If you want the same horizontal scrolling as Stage used, you may need to look elsewhere.

But here are a couple of ideas.

1- Configure Stage to create a page without masthead, navigation, or footer. Add your image and export it. In Theater, try using the Pym I-frame embed feature.
http://backlight.theturninggate.net/doc … tation_pym
I've not played around with this too much so this may not even be applicable because it looks like Pym calls for html pages the Stage exports as a php page. Might be worth a try though. Looks like you'd need to edit the exported index.php file and add the needed Pym js script.

2- Simply use Stage to create your panorama page(s). Upload them to your site and add them to your navigation menu.


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Pangolin test site, Backlight 1.1.1 test site

Offline

#3 2018-01-12 08:19:53

hjrw
Member
From: Peoria (Phoenix) AZ
Registered: 2012-10-01
Posts: 168

Re: Panorama

I have tried a few things...

Here is my original STAGE page   
               http://photographs-now.com/stage_panora … -yosemite/

On this page I was able to horizontally pan the images and give them a larger height to make them visible.

My attempts at using STAGE to create a THEATER page may be seen here
               http://caddinfo.com/photo-now-backlight … -panorama/

I am unable to pan the image, as I have not figured out how to work with this type of image.

I have placed some screen shots of the Lightroom Publisher edit pages on Google Drive at
               https://drive.google.com/file/d/1U9C3h- … sp=sharing     (STAGE)
               https://drive.google.com/file/d/1ex8TgR … sp=sharing     (THEATER)

I located an application on-line that appears to do what I would like to see
               https://onextrapixel.com/embed-an-inter … ma-viewer/

Unfortunately, I do not know enough html to figure out how to utilize this within Backlight, if it is even possible.  The code is given in the link above.  Here is a link to their demo.
               http://www.onextrapixel.com/examples/pa … ndex2.html                (DEMO)

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Herschel

Last edited by hjrw (2018-01-12 08:23:29)

Offline

#4 2018-01-12 08:58:57

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 14,232
Website

Re: Panorama

one problem is the Video ID field. It should be the URL to your Stage Page, not the URL to the jpg image. Try changing that and see what happens.

Did you also add the PYM js to the exported Stage page's index.php file?

----

For the onextrapixel thing, I think you'd probably first need to use phplugins to add the necessary scripts.
You wouldn't need to add jQuery, as that is already included in Backlight.
http://backlight.theturninggate.net/doc … _phplugins

You'd create a page template that uses a phplugins file that inserts the needed scripts into the head using the ttg_head hook. You could include their css here or create your own custom css file and assign that to the page template. Up to you.

The html could just simply be added to the page's copy.

Here's what I would try if I was going to use the onextrapixel script: Create a Theater template using the Blank presentation. Assign to this template the page template that uses the phplugins file that inserts the needed script.
I would put the css in a custom css file if you're already using one. Otherwise, add it to the head as per their instructions.

In Lightroom, choose your panorama image(s) and create an album that includes them (this is for the thumbnails). Assign the Theater template you made.
In the album's copy area, add the html they recommend. Don't use the body tags though, the page already has those. just this part:

 <div class="panorama">
    <img src="your-panorama-1.jpg">
  </div>
  <div class="panorama">
    <img src="your-panorama-2.jpg">
  </div>

I've not used Theater's Blank presentation so I don't know it if actually exports a large image. If it does. Then use the url to the image(s) in the Theater album as the image source. If it doesn't you'll need to provide the large image(s). I'd suggest exporting from Lightroom at the size you need and FTP to a folder in the root of your site set up for the purpose (I'll call it "panoramas"). Then the html would be <img src="/panoramas/your-image.jpg"

After you see the results you may wish to add more styling via custom css


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Pangolin test site, Backlight 1.1.1 test site

Offline

#5 2018-01-12 09:24:46

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 14,232
Website

Re: Panorama

Ok, I just did a little testing. The Theater Blank presentation does export the images as normal. They are located in the
....album-name/photos/ folder.

What happens with the Theater Blank presentation is that no images are placed in the gallery area. But that area is still on the page, taking up space. So you'll want to remove it using some custom css. I created a theater album template using the Blank presentation and cleverly named it "theater-blank". Thanks to Matt and Ben adding template and slug classes, I can target this template with css to remove the gallery area. This css targets only albums using my "theater-blank" template:

.album-template-identifier-theater-blank .the__gallery {
	display:none;
}

Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Pangolin test site, Backlight 1.1.1 test site

Offline

#6 2018-01-12 11:06:34

hjrw
Member
From: Peoria (Phoenix) AZ
Registered: 2012-10-01
Posts: 168

Re: Panorama

Hi Ben

In response to your first response, when I put the URL for the STAGE page in the Video ID, I get a view of the banner of the STAGE page.

For the latest response, I'm not sure what to so with the css or what to do after I clone the Theater template and give it an ID of "theater-blank"...

If you have time to tinker, I've sent the ftp info and website info via email.

Any help would be appreciated...  It looks like I will need to learn some additional php, css, and html.

-Herschel

Offline

#7 2018-01-12 11:58:19

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 14,232
Website

Re: Panorama

In response to your first response, when I put the URL for the STAGE page in the Video ID, I get a view of the banner of the STAGE page.

That's why I suggested creating a stage page that didn't have a masthead or footer or navigation. Disable those areas in the Stage plug-in.

For the latest response, I'm not sure what to so with the css or what to do after I clone the Theater template and give it an ID of "theater-blank"...

First, you need to create a Theater album template and choose the Blank presentation. Also give it the id of "theater-blank". If you're cloning from another Theater template, then go to Designer and scroll down to Album templates and click on the name of the Theater Blank template. Then click Properties. Then fill in the ID field with "theater-blank"
For custom css: http://backlight.theturninggate.net/doc … tylesheets

It looks like I will need to learn some additional php, css, and html.

for html, the folks that make the onextrapixel script have provided that. If it doesn't work quite as you expect, I'm sure someone on the forum will offer some suggestions.
the php part is easy, there are example in the phplugins files found in /backlight/custom/phplugins/. You can just modify any of those.
You may or may not need much custom css. The snippet I provided will simply remove the gallery area from the Theater page so it doesn't take up any unnecessary room.


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Pangolin test site, Backlight 1.1.1 test site

Offline

#8 2018-01-13 02:26:44

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 14,232
Website

Re: Panorama

I've just tried embedding a CE4 Stage panorama-reel album into a Pym Theater album. Didn't quite work as expected. At first.

Here's what I did:

I created a CE4 Stage pano album using two panos and their placeholder images. I disabled everything (masthead, navigation, footer, social media, copy area, etc.) except the gallery area.

After exporting I edited the index.php file and added the pym script indicated in the pym documentation to the <script> area at the bottom of the index.php file.
The pym script provided in the index.html file downloaded from the link in the docs assumes an html file is being placed in the pym/ folder. Since the index.php file is in another folder the path to actual pym script needed to be modified to :

<script src="/pym/pym.v1.min.js"></script>
	<script>
	var pymChild = new pym.Child();
	</script>

I uploaded the entire exported CE4 Stage pano folder to my /pym/ folder.

In Backlight, I created a Pym Theater album template.

In Lightroom, I created a new album using that Pym Theater template and entered the url to the Stage pano page:
http://pangolin.barbeephoto.com/pym/sta … backlight/
As you can see, this album, just showing the gallery area, works as expected.

However, not so much in the Theater album at first. There was just a strip of the image, about 20px high.

On a whim, I deleted some of the extraneous files from the Stage export: autondex.xml, template_index.php, and template_mobile.php.

This did the trick (I have no clue to why) and now the page works as I would expect it to: http://pangolin.barbeephoto.com/galleri … pano-demo/


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Pangolin test site, Backlight 1.1.1 test site

Offline

#9 2018-01-13 07:16:49

hjrw
Member
From: Peoria (Phoenix) AZ
Registered: 2012-10-01
Posts: 168

Re: Panorama

Hi Rod

It appears that my custom templates for CE4 are no longer in Lightroom.  The standard ones are there.  So I don't have a way to modify the CE4 Stage to eliminate the masthead, etc.  I seem to have forgotten how to work in CE4.  Backlight is so much easier...

Offline

#10 2018-01-13 07:59:04

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 14,232
Website

Re: Panorama

You no longer have the CE4 web engines (plug-ins)?

I don't know if you can still download them or not, but you might try the order lookup on the Support Page.

I you no longer have CE4 Stage and the download is no longer available, you may need to pursue the other option using that script you found.

But hey, thanks for the original question. It was a good problem solving exercise that opens up a number of possibilities using CE4 Stage for those who have it.


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Pangolin test site, Backlight 1.1.1 test site

Offline

#11 2018-01-13 18:46:10

richam
Member
From: Preveza, Greece
Registered: 2013-01-06
Posts: 85
Website

Re: Panorama

FWIW, I set up a panorama display template using Vegas Strip; no special php, css, html or additional coding required.  Here's are a couple of examples:

http://www.michaelrichardsphotography.c … umbo-pano/

http://www.michaelrichardsphotography.c … balu-pano/

I used Vegas Strip pano settings: Gutters, Border, Slide Padding and Slide Margins to 0.

Then precision sliced the pano in Photoshop -- easier than it sounds and you can set up a user action if you want. I used Photoshop CC on the Mac; your setup could be a little different.  This is the workflow: Open the pano in Photoshop, select the slice tool (c), and double click on the image.  This opens a popup menu, and select "Divide Slice".  In this menu, check "Divide Vertically Into" and set it at the desired slice width (I used 960 pixels; use other value to suit your presentation).  Click OK.  The slice guide lines should be visible at this point.  Select File>Export>Save for Web (Legacy) to open save dialog.  Size "fit in view" on the lower left to make all slices visible in the window, and select them all (shift-click will do) the first time you do this.  Then set up your desired Presets (e.g. jpeg, quality, filenames, etc.) in the upper right of the dialog box.  Once you get it working as you want, you can save this as a preset for future use and you won't have to select all the slices again.

The slices will be where you instructed PS to save them.  Set up an album in LR with the Vegas Strip Pano template, add the slices and publish.

Offline

#12 2018-01-13 23:38:25

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 14,232
Website

Re: Panorama

Great idea


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Pangolin test site, Backlight 1.1.1 test site

Offline

#13 2018-01-14 07:01:38

hjrw
Member
From: Peoria (Phoenix) AZ
Registered: 2012-10-01
Posts: 168

Re: Panorama

richam...

I'll try that also.

I get a delay when I pan... is there a setting that I should change?  Here is a link

http://caddinfo.com/photo-now-backlight … -panorama/

Thanks
-Herschel


Update...  I reduced the height and it appears to be working now.

Last edited by hjrw (2018-01-15 12:09:56)

Offline

#14 2018-01-15 15:51:43

richam
Member
From: Preveza, Greece
Registered: 2013-01-06
Posts: 85
Website

Re: Panorama

hjrw wrote:

richam...

I'll try that also.

I get a delay when I pan... is there a setting that I should change?  Here is a link

http://caddinfo.com/photo-now-backlight … -panorama/

Thanks
-Herschel


Update...  I reduced the height and it appears to be working now.

I think you got it.  I didn't mention it, but reduced the height of the panorama in Photoshop to exactly 640 pixels before slicing; the same as the image renditions specification in the template.  I also set up the template image width to 960; the same as the slice width.  This seemed to make things neater and perhaps faster to set up and display.

Offline

#15 2018-01-18 18:07:24

PaulQM
Member
Registered: 2013-07-16
Posts: 28

Re: Panorama

richam wrote:

I used Vegas Strip pano settings: Gutters, Border, Slide Padding and Slide Margins to 0.

Hi, fantastic idea but where would I find the Vegas Strip pano settings?

Paul...

Last edited by PaulQM (2018-01-18 18:08:44)

Offline

#16 2018-01-18 19:38:01

richam
Member
From: Preveza, Greece
Registered: 2013-01-06
Posts: 85
Website

Re: Panorama

PaulQM wrote:
richam wrote:

I used Vegas Strip pano settings: Gutters, Border, Slide Padding and Slide Margins to 0.

Hi, fantastic idea but where would I find the Vegas Strip pano settings?

Paul...

First, you need to have a Pangolin Theater album to work on.  If necessary, start a new album.  Then select "Filmstrip" in the "Presentation Type" section.  The controls should appear.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB