Community @ The Turning Gate

Support community for TTG plugins and products.

You are not logged in.

#1 2013-03-09 00:02:49

lofty
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2012-09-26
Posts: 256
Website

Font Awesome

Hi Guys,

OK I give up! why can't I get my Font Awesome icons to show up?

I have been playing with this for a couple of days now and can't find out how to get the blighters to show.

I place (eg) <i class="icon-home"></i> in the Header text either before or after as per examples.

What am I missing, please I know it must be something dumm!

--Lofty

Offline

#2 2013-03-09 00:38:46

Matthew
Administrator
From: San Francisco, CA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 5,603
Website

Re: Font Awesome

When you say "header text", what are you talking about?


Campagna Pictures, http://campagnapictures.com
The Turning Gate, http://theturninggate.net

Offline

#3 2013-03-09 00:41:22

lofty
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2012-09-26
Posts: 256
Website

Re: Font Awesome

Hi Matt,

Sorry my bad! I mean text that is formatted as h1, h2 etc.

so I enter ## <i class="icon-home"></i> Home

or ## Home <i class="icon-home"></i>

Offline

#4 2013-03-09 00:44:08

Matthew
Administrator
From: San Francisco, CA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 5,603
Website

Re: Font Awesome

Into the Page Copy (md) field? If so, then it works just fine here.


Campagna Pictures, http://campagnapictures.com
The Turning Gate, http://theturninggate.net

Offline

#5 2013-03-09 00:54:02

lofty
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2012-09-26
Posts: 256
Website

Re: Font Awesome

Via Publisher, in the Block Copy.

But also by editing the xml file directly.

Offline

#6 2013-03-09 01:26:48

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 16,714
Website

Re: Font Awesome

It works for me in the Publisher Content Block. In the xml it ends up in the <block-content> tag

you have a link to a problem album?


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Backlight 2 test site, Pangolin test site

Offline

#7 2013-03-09 01:42:23

lofty
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2012-09-26
Posts: 256
Website

Re: Font Awesome

I knew you were going to ask that Rod, but no this is on a test server at home.

When I inspect the element in Chrome or Firefox tools the i element just doesn't show. Very frustrating.

That's why I'm sure it's something I'm missing. Everything else works fine. All my custom PHP and CSS is OK, just trying some new bits for a bit of fun!

Guess I'll have to wait to put it online when I've sorted it all out, then I can ask again yikes)

Meanwhile having fun.....

Offline

#8 2013-03-09 01:52:23

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 16,714
Website

Re: Font Awesome

are the fonts being called correctly? Take a look at the source code. In mine, font awesome gets called around line 57. See if it's looking in the right place or if it's looking somewhere it can't get to because it's on your test server


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Backlight 2 test site, Pangolin test site

Offline

#9 2013-03-09 02:21:05

lofty
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2012-09-26
Posts: 256
Website

Re: Font Awesome

OK Rod,

I'll give it a go when I get home, if the wine doesn't kick in first!

Offline

#10 2013-03-09 02:58:40

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 16,714
Website

Re: Font Awesome

CE3: More fun with wine!


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Backlight 2 test site, Pangolin test site

Offline

#11 2013-03-10 01:29:04

lofty
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2012-09-26
Posts: 256
Website

Re: Font Awesome

Hey, wine worked! I now have Icons working inline, really not sure why they didn't work.

Next challenge is Icons on the Menu items....

And it's true CE3 is more fun with wine!

--Lofty

Offline

#12 2013-03-10 13:01:36

Matthew
Administrator
From: San Francisco, CA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 5,603
Website

Re: Font Awesome

Icons in the menu may not work. At least, not when using drop-menus. They interfere with our Javascript for the carets.


Campagna Pictures, http://campagnapictures.com
The Turning Gate, http://theturninggate.net

Offline

#13 2013-03-10 18:59:47

lofty
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2012-09-26
Posts: 256
Website

Re: Font Awesome

Ah! OK, Matt.

I'll stop messing about in that case!

Offline

#14 2013-03-11 19:34:35

lofty
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2012-09-26
Posts: 256
Website

Re: Font Awesome

OK! I think I have established what is going on! I now have my site partially upgraded to CE3 and maybe you guys can shed some light as the issue seems to be browser specific.

I have two domain names pointing at the same site;

http://www.kopstone.co.uk and http://www.gypsypics.co.uk

When I designed the CE3 Pages and CE3 Gallery I used www.kopstone.co.uk as the site root.

Visiting my site using Chrome/IE9 or Safari makes no difference which address I use.

However when I use Firefox (versions 16.2 on my Mac/17.0 on my PC) and go to www.kopstone.co.uk all the font awesome elements show fine, when I use www.gypsypics.co.uk none of the font awesome elements are displayed correctly.

Spooky!

Offline

#15 2013-03-11 21:52:29

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 16,714
Website

Re: Font Awesome

Try using just / as your site root.

Rod


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Backlight 2 test site, Pangolin test site

Offline

#16 2013-03-11 21:54:15

lofty
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2012-09-26
Posts: 256
Website

Re: Font Awesome

Thanks Rod,

I'll give it a go later on.....

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB