Community @ The Turning Gate

Support community for TTG plugins and products.

You are not logged in.

#1 2016-03-23 19:29:19

BleekerVision
Member
From: Hoevelaken in the Netherlands
Registered: 2015-12-22
Posts: 12
Website

Footer not visible

After installing the latest updates for TTG the footer on my site is not completely visible. Only the tekst of the footer is visible, not the background. In Lightroom it shows normal. What can I do?

Offline

#2 2016-03-23 20:53:28

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 12,653
Website

Re: Footer not visible

Hard to tell without seeing it. Can you post a link to your site?


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Backlight test site

Online

#3 2016-03-23 21:14:19

BleekerVision
Member
From: Hoevelaken in the Netherlands
Registered: 2015-12-22
Posts: 12
Website

Re: Footer not visible

Offline

#4 2016-03-23 22:30:51

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 12,653
Website

Re: Footer not visible

It looks to me that the footer background color is set to the same as the page background color. At least that's what the page's css is showing.

What's it supposed to look like? Can you post a screen shot of what it should look like along with the footer settings?

Have you tried re-exporting and uploading?


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Backlight test site

Online

#5 2016-03-24 21:59:07

BleekerVision
Member
From: Hoevelaken in the Netherlands
Registered: 2015-12-22
Posts: 12
Website

Re: Footer not visible

Re-exporting and uploading does not help.

[img]file:///Users/iMacBV/Downloads/Screenshot%20at%20mrt.%2024%2013-48-26.png[/img]

here you can see the grey background and the settings in LR.

Offline

#6 2016-03-24 22:05:51

BleekerVision
Member
From: Hoevelaken in the Netherlands
Registered: 2015-12-22
Posts: 12
Website

Re: Footer not visible

Screenshot%20at%20mrt.%2024%2013-48-26.png

Offline

#7 2016-03-24 22:51:17

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 12,653
Website

Re: Footer not visible

Well there's something strange going on in your css files. At the end of the style-common.css file is some javascript and a bunch of html (and a lot of missing css). Javascript and HTML do not belong in a css file.

Did you do anything with the exported style-common.css file?

The only thing I can suggest is re-exporting Pages.
on the server, delete the /lib/css/style-common.css file
re-upload the newly exported /lib/css/style-common.css file

One question: how are you uploading your files? Are you using a dedicated FTP client or Lightroom's Upload feature?
If Lightroom's Upload, then don't use that. Use FTP.

while you're at it, you might as well grab the latest version of Pages. Your site is using 7.0.14, the latest version is 7.0.15


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Backlight test site

Online

#8 2016-03-24 23:57:13

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 12,653
Website

Re: Footer not visible

Actually, there's a bunch of weird stuff in that css file: http://fotografie.bleeker-vision.nl/lib … common.css

It looks like something's going bonkers with the export of that particular css file. It looks like there's Lightroom web engine code in there too.


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Backlight test site

Online

#9 2016-03-25 03:04:42

BleekerVision
Member
From: Hoevelaken in the Netherlands
Registered: 2015-12-22
Posts: 12
Website

Re: Footer not visible

I always export the files and upload them with FileZilla.

I have just exported again but the style-common.css does not change and this was with Pages 7.0.15.

Maybe something wrong in my template?

The first year on my PC TTG worked fine. Three months ago I switched to an iMac and installed everything new. I thing since then there is a problem.

Can you send me the Apple version? wink

Offline

#10 2016-03-25 03:51:29

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 12,653
Website

Re: Footer not visible

the plug-ins are the same for Windows and Mac. They are Lightroom specific, not OS specific.

Feel free to save your Pages setup as a User Template and email it to me. I'll see if I get the same results in the export.


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Backlight test site

Online

#11 2016-03-25 04:03:33

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 12,653
Website

Re: Footer not visible

I have just exported again but the style-common.css does not change and this was with Pages 7.0.15.

So that file still has all the weird stuff at the end?

Did you delete the old file and upload the newly exported file?

I just did a Pages export (using 7.0.15) and the css files look fine.


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Backlight test site

Online

#12 2016-03-25 06:16:58

Daniel Leu
Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-11
Posts: 623
Website

Re: Footer not visible

Hmmm....

.profile-image {
    margin: 0 auto;
    position: relative;
    }
.profile-image img {
    margin: 0;
    }
.profile-icon {
    height: nilpx;
    width: nilpx;
    }

.profile-labels {
    position: absolute;
 
        left: <!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01//EN"

I would double check what you have entered in the fields of the masthead section. There might be something that breaks the Lr code generation.


Daniel Leu | Photography   
DanielLeu.com

Just a user who loves to dive into techie stuff... and sometimes gets into trouble for that.

Offline

#13 2016-03-25 06:55:00

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 12,653
Website

Re: Footer not visible

I think it's just the export, or perhaps something messed up with in the plug-in. René sent me a user template for Pages and everything is checking out fine on my end. The style-common.css file is good and the site works for me in WAMP, including the footer background.


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Backlight test site

Online

#14 2016-03-25 08:34:15

Matthew
Administrator
From: Seoul, South Korea
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 4,668
Website

Re: Footer not visible

That's odd for the file to be breaking on a slider value. Perhaps he ought to try downloading a fresh copy of the plugin and re-installing. Might be he has a file corruption issue.


Campagna Pictures, http://campagnapictures.com
The Turning Gate, http://theturninggate.net

Offline

#15 2016-03-25 08:49:42

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 12,653
Website

Re: Footer not visible

That's what I've suggested to him


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Backlight test site

Online

#16 2016-03-25 22:52:15

BleekerVision
Member
From: Hoevelaken in the Netherlands
Registered: 2015-12-22
Posts: 12
Website

Re: Footer not visible

I've downloaded and installed Pages 7.0.15 - same result

However I just found out that when I don't use my logo in the header, the footer is ok.
(Uncheck Use Graphic Identity Plate)

Is there something wrong with my logo?

Offline

#17 2016-03-25 22:58:45

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 12,653
Website

Re: Footer not visible

It may be the Identity Plate Role you're using, though I don't see how that could mess things up so much. (and it worked fine on my end)

Anyway, in the template you sent me you're using Profile. This means you should have an image and text.
http://ce4.theturninggate.net/docs/doku … image_text

The text is what you fill out in the Heading and Subheading fields. If you don't need this text to show, then try using the Identity Plate Role : Banner.

You should have something in the Heading field anyway I believe. I think this acts as the H1 tag for the page.


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Backlight test site

Online

#18 2016-03-25 23:43:26

BleekerVision
Member
From: Hoevelaken in the Netherlands
Registered: 2015-12-22
Posts: 12
Website

Re: Footer not visible

I've played with the identity settings and reinstalled the same old logo and suddenly it works!

It has to do with the identity plate and the masthead settings.

The logo is now also visible under the setting Use Graphic Identity Plate.

Thanks for helping me.
Simul nos firmiores.

Offline

#19 2016-03-26 00:36:46

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 12,653
Website

Re: Footer not visible

Can you share the settings you ended up using? (it'll give Matt something to scratch his head about)
I don't think any combination of settings should result in a messed up css file being exported.

I know that if you use the Banner Identity Plate Role and you don't fill in the Heading field, that the masthead image won't show.

In the template you sent me, you have a graphic identity plate using your logo and Identity Plate Role was set to Profile. There was nothing in the Heading or Subheading field. And it seemed to work fine; the logo showed up and the footer was fine in the export I did.

But I'm glad it's working for you now smile


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Backlight test site

Online

#20 2016-03-26 01:12:58

BleekerVision
Member
From: Hoevelaken in the Netherlands
Registered: 2015-12-22
Posts: 12
Website

Re: Footer not visible

It's difficult to remember the settings I have changed.

In LR Pages I saw that the logo was not visible under the setting Use Graphic Identity Plate (empty).
There is a small down arrow where I choose the Main Identity Plate. Then I saw the logo. Also in the main screen of LR and the footer background became visible.

Offline

#21 2016-03-26 01:51:04

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 12,653
Website

Re: Footer not visible

which setting did you end up with for Identity Plate Role?

and did you enter anything in the Heading and Subheading fields?


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Backlight test site

Online

#22 2016-03-26 02:20:44

BleekerVision
Member
From: Hoevelaken in the Netherlands
Registered: 2015-12-22
Posts: 12
Website

Re: Footer not visible

Identity Plate Role = Profile and Heading and Subheading remains empty.

Offline

#23 2016-03-26 02:35:04

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 12,653
Website

Re: Footer not visible

For better SEO you could try using Banner as the Identity Plate Role and then in the Heading field put the name of your site. The heading will become the H1 tag, which is important for SEO (if you care about that)


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Backlight test site

Online

#24 2016-03-26 03:08:10

BleekerVision
Member
From: Hoevelaken in the Netherlands
Registered: 2015-12-22
Posts: 12
Website

Re: Footer not visible

Thanks! I wil change this.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB