Community @ The Turning Gate

Support community for TTG plugins and products.

You are not logged in.

#1 2019-01-07 10:16:28

scottfrey
Member
Registered: 2013-10-12
Posts: 119

Upgraded CE4 to BL2 and cannot publish

I have managed to somewhat successfully upgrade my existing site, however:

I can not authenticate the API in Lightroom "Authentication check was NOT successful"
    API URL is http://www.lightsmithy.com/backlight/publisher/  (note that it will not let me delete that trailing slash)

I am also unable to publish an image using the web publisher, "Upload failed" and then "Upload error". I can create an album and album set, but cannot upload an image.


I have:

-  removed all other instances or TTG publisher and older versions from Lightroom, and installed and reinstalled the version downloaded from my backlight site.

-  Reinstalled the entire backlight installation from the modules page

-  Poked around with the designer and Backlight seems to be functional other than not publishing anything in any way.

I can't find any specific match here for my problem and the similar ones have not provided a solution. Not sure how to proceed from here.

Last edited by scottfrey (2019-01-07 10:36:09)

Offline

#2 2019-01-07 10:26:23

scottfrey
Member
Registered: 2013-10-12
Posts: 119

Re: Upgraded CE4 to BL2 and cannot publish

Here is a snip from the server log regarding the upload failed error

[Mon Jan 07 01:12:03.699778 2019] [:error] [pid 2651] [client 71.36.96.158:63236] PHP Fatal error:  Call to undefined function ImageCreateFromjpeg() in /srv/photo.fx4.net/htdocs/backlight/modules/module-publisher/application/helpers/ImageResizer.php on line 134, referer: http://www.lightsmithy.com/backlight/pu … 1600/view/
[Mon Jan 07 01:12:03.699875 2019] [:error] [pid 2651] [client 71.36.96.158:63236] TRACE: returning: {"status":"error","message":"Unexpected error: Call to undefined function ImageCreateFromjpeg() in ImageResizer.php on line 134"}, referer: http://www.lightsmithy.com/backlight/pu … 1600/view/

Offline

#3 2019-01-07 10:37:53

scottfrey
Member
Registered: 2013-10-12
Posts: 119

Re: Upgraded CE4 to BL2 and cannot publish

Website provider is going to upgrade PHP an reinstall GD and imagenagic, hopefully that will solve the upload issue. I’ll report back.

Still need to solve the Lightroom API issue.

Offline

#4 2019-01-07 10:52:49

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 16,625
Website

Re: Upgraded CE4 to BL2 and cannot publish

Maybe an obvious question, but is the API key the same in Backlight and Lightroom?


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Backlight 2 test site, Pangolin test site

Offline

#5 2019-01-07 12:15:33

scottfrey
Member
Registered: 2013-10-12
Posts: 119

Re: Upgraded CE4 to BL2 and cannot publish

Maybe an obvious question, but is the API key the same in Backlight and Lightroom?

It never hurts to check the obvious, but I even made it 123456 in both places just to eliminate any possible way to screw that up.  (It’s not that anymore)

So I am pretty sure that isn’t it.

Offline

#6 2019-01-07 13:18:28

Ben
Moderator
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2012-09-29
Posts: 4,064

Re: Upgraded CE4 to BL2 and cannot publish

Hi Scott, can you share a Backlight admin login via email?  I will then try to create and publish to a hidden album to see whether I can find the problem.

Offline

#7 2019-01-09 05:11:02

jwlimages
Member
Registered: 2015-08-09
Posts: 61

Re: Upgraded CE4 to BL2 and cannot publish

I'm having a similar issue - trying to upgrade directly from CE4 to Backlight2. Following instructions using Backlight's "Upgrade Albums from CE4" - I get the default "Welcome" page as if installing Backlight alone (no galleries, etc.). When I try to create a new Publish instance in Lightroom (or when trying to update existing CE4-generated Instance), I get that same "Authentication was NOT Successful" error.
I had created a new Authentication Key during the Backlight2 setup, and am using correct password for it. (interesting - the old CE4 Publish instance successfully authenticates).
Any troubleshooting suggestions?

Offline

#8 2019-01-09 05:35:24

jwlimages
Member
Registered: 2015-08-09
Posts: 61

Re: Upgraded CE4 to BL2 and cannot publish

Maybe I should add my API URL: http://jwlimages.com/backlight/publisher/

Also, wondering if part of the issue is how I had configured the CE4-built site. Since I wanted the initial landing page to offer a choice (link to an "Art" section & another to "Commerce", galleries within each section - trying to keep them separate), I built it with that landing page at the root, then the 2 sections as complete sites inside subdomains (hope I'm describing this correctly!). Anyway, thinking I might need to duplicate this structure with Backlight, I tried copying the backlight install folder into the Art subdomain. When I direct Lightroom to the backlight folder in the subdomain I still get that "Authentication was NOT successful" error.

So my website is dead in the water until I can figure this out...

Offline

#9 2019-01-09 05:43:37

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 16,625
Website

Re: Upgraded CE4 to BL2 and cannot publish

Did you install the latest TTG Publisher plug-in in Lightroom?

You can download it from the Backlight Modules page (from the Backlight Menu go to Admin > Backlight Modules)

the link to the Publisher download is near the top of the page.


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Backlight 2 test site, Pangolin test site

Offline

#10 2019-01-09 06:04:35

jwlimages
Member
Registered: 2015-08-09
Posts: 61

Re: Upgraded CE4 to BL2 and cannot publish

OK, will try that now.
Thanks!
John

Offline

#11 2019-01-09 06:52:18

jwlimages
Member
Registered: 2015-08-09
Posts: 61

Re: Upgraded CE4 to BL2 and cannot publish

Nope, the current Publisher plug-in gives the same error.
Makes no difference whether I target the backlight folder installed at the root or a second one installed in a subdomain.
Backlight itself seems to be installed & working correctly, e.g. I was able to install the Theater module from within it. But Lightroom (Classic, v.7.5) can't seem to find it...

Offline

#12 2019-01-09 07:16:12

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 16,625
Website

Re: Upgraded CE4 to BL2 and cannot publish

if you want, send your publisher api key via email (link beneath my name and picture to the left) and I'll see if I can connect from my end. That will at least give us an idea of where the problem is and will give Ben something to work with.


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Backlight 2 test site, Pangolin test site

Offline

#13 2019-01-09 08:04:32

jwlimages
Member
Registered: 2015-08-09
Posts: 61

Re: Upgraded CE4 to BL2 and cannot publish

direct email sent

Offline

#14 2019-01-09 10:02:53

scottfrey
Member
Registered: 2013-10-12
Posts: 119

Re: Upgraded CE4 to BL2 and cannot publish

I have been poking around a bit while waiting to hear back from Ben

I have one instance of publisher authentication working in Lightroom. Of Five. All others fail with the exact same settings. It least I know that the site is actually able to publish, but why only one?

The one I got working I used https:// for the prefix and that got it working.

Just so we don't have to go down that path, I'll preemptively explain;

Master Lightroom Catalog: My (mostly) landscape images, has a giant Collections top level with a lot of albums and a Separate Portfolios top level of curated samples. I could be convinced to roll this together.

Events Lightroom Catalog (an entire separate library): has My event work that I donate to a non profit. in a top level directory called events. This is not in main catalog

NSFW Lightroom Catalog; Art nudes, both portfolios and private albums. Obviously, kept entirely separate

I've been doing this in CE4 (and CE3) For years

Last edited by scottfrey (2019-01-09 10:03:07)

Offline

#15 2019-01-14 17:30:06

Matthew
Administrator
From: San Francisco, CA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 5,594
Website

Re: Upgraded CE4 to BL2 and cannot publish

Hi Scott,

I visited your site using both http and https, and both worked. If you have an SSL certificate, then you should be using it uniformly. And if you're able to publish to using the https form of your address, then use it for all instances.

What you should have in your .htaccess file is a directive that reroutes all http traffic to https, effectively eliminating http traffic altogether.


Campagna Pictures, http://campagnapictures.com
The Turning Gate, http://theturninggate.net

Offline

#16 2019-01-15 06:52:43

scottfrey
Member
Registered: 2013-10-12
Posts: 119

Re: Upgraded CE4 to BL2 and cannot publish

Matthew wrote:

What you should have in your .htaccess file is a directive that reroutes all http traffic to https, effectively eliminating http traffic altogether.

I don't have a cert, but I think there is one for the server. I can't find what the htaccess file should look like for that in the documentation using the documentation search.

Not sure what I should change to make https mandatory

Offline

#17 2019-01-15 07:03:15

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 16,625
Website

Re: Upgraded CE4 to BL2 and cannot publish

first you need to make sure your host is providing you with a ssl certificate. Bluehost, and apparently 1&1 are supplying these automatically.
Then you need to change the site urls in Backlight Settings (including the WordPress URL I'm assuming)

Then you need to add the rewrite code to the .html file in the root of the site. Fortunately, there's an awesome new feature in the recently updated Backlight 2 (2.0.5). In Settings > Privacy, you'll see a setting to "Automatically Redirect Browsers To https"

HTTPS is not covered in the documentation because it's basically a host related issue. But there is a sticky topic on it here:
http://community.theturninggate.net/vie … hp?id=7876

[Edit: as Daniel noted below, I meant .htaccess, not .html]


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Backlight 2 test site, Pangolin test site

Offline

#18 2019-01-15 07:20:32

Daniel Leu
Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-11
Posts: 1,381
Website

Re: Upgraded CE4 to BL2 and cannot publish

rod barbee wrote:

Then you need to add the rewrite code to the .html file in the root of the site. Fortunately, there's an awesome new feature in the recently updated Backlight 2 (2.0.5). In Settings > Privacy, you'll see a setting to "Automatically Redirect Browsers To https"

I'm certain that Rod meant to write .htaccess instead of .html. But as he mentioned, since yesterday's 2.0.5 update, this can be enabled in the backend settings.


Daniel Leu | Photography   
DanielLeu.com

Offline

#19 2019-01-15 08:02:40

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 16,625
Website

Re: Upgraded CE4 to BL2 and cannot publish

Daniel Leu wrote:
rod barbee wrote:

Then you need to add the rewrite code to the .html file in the root of the site. Fortunately, there's an awesome new feature in the recently updated Backlight 2 (2.0.5). In Settings > Privacy, you'll see a setting to "Automatically Redirect Browsers To https"

I'm certain that Rod meant to write .htaccess instead of .html. But as he mentioned, since yesterday's 2.0.5 update, this can be enabled in the backend settings.

I'm certain you are right! Sometimes the fingers just use their memory and type what they will! smile


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Backlight 2 test site, Pangolin test site

Offline

#20 2019-01-15 08:47:57

scottfrey
Member
Registered: 2013-10-12
Posts: 119

Re: Upgraded CE4 to BL2 and cannot publish

Well, that was easy with 2.0.5

Offline

#21 2019-01-15 11:21:02

Matthew
Administrator
From: San Francisco, CA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 5,594
Website

Re: Upgraded CE4 to BL2 and cannot publish

Publishing problems solved as well?


Campagna Pictures, http://campagnapictures.com
The Turning Gate, http://theturninggate.net

Offline

#22 2019-01-16 01:42:48

scottfrey
Member
Registered: 2013-10-12
Posts: 119

Re: Upgraded CE4 to BL2 and cannot publish

Matthew wrote:

Publishing problems solved as well?

Yes, Ben solved it remotely.

A complication we found while troubleshooting is that Lightroom seems to be maintaining a session with the server and changing the key without restarting Lightroom makes it refuse to authenticate with the new key, yet still work with the one that was there when launched. But on a per publisher instance basis, so it could work with one instance but not another.

So for anyone fighting with Lightroom, restart it every time you change something.

Offline

#23 2019-01-16 05:13:26

Ben
Moderator
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2012-09-29
Posts: 4,064

Re: Upgraded CE4 to BL2 and cannot publish

scottfrey wrote:

So for anyone fighting with Lightroom, restart it every time you change something.

That's not necessary.  It may be advisable to restart Lightroom after changing the API Key on the server, that's all.  I have yet to investigate this.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB