Community @ The Turning Gate

Support community for TTG plugins and products.

You are not logged in.

#1 2016-05-09 01:00:39

tomowensphoto
Member
From: Suffolk
Registered: 2012-11-21
Posts: 258
Website

Error suggesting report to TTG

I  am getting this error sometimes on login to the admin console. The first time was on the initial save after making the basic changes to the admin form. Prior to getting access I had to set folder permissions to 777. ( my CE4 instance is 775 but that did not work and 755 got me nowhere)
Not sure what triggers the error at present, or indeed what it means.
[http://tomowens.openpoint.co.uk/Screen% … .41.59.png]
This instance was just after I added the Cookie page to the menu.
Very early days for me having only installed a few hours ago. I ignored the first instance but this is the third time now so thought I'd better do as I was being instructed - especially as it is a big red box.
Thanks TomO


Regards,
TomO
Just a simple photographer
Live site at http://tomowens.openpoint.co.uk/

Offline

#2 2016-05-09 01:50:34

tomowensphoto
Member
From: Suffolk
Registered: 2012-11-21
Posts: 258
Website

Re: Error suggesting report to TTG

Just come back to the desk after a break. Logged in to the console and got the same error immediately. No point copying the link as it is the same message.
Thanks
TomO


Regards,
TomO
Just a simple photographer
Live site at http://tomowens.openpoint.co.uk/

Offline

#3 2016-05-09 02:33:24

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 16,714
Website

Re: Error suggesting report to TTG

Just to be clear, things were working until you added http://tomowens.openpoint.co.uk/cookies/index.php to your menu?


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Backlight 2 test site, Pangolin test site

Offline

#4 2016-05-09 02:39:15

tomowensphoto
Member
From: Suffolk
Registered: 2012-11-21
Posts: 258
Website

Re: Error suggesting report to TTG

Hi Rod,
All I managed to do was change the default values on first entering the admin console. The error came up on the first save, so this the 'norm' for me as I have not experienced any other state. I had held back from installing whilst I read everyone elses posts so thought it was safe to do mine!
The Backlight instance sits at http://tomowens.openpoint.co.uk/new as my CE4 instance sits one level above. From what I have read, that would appear to be an OK place to put my dev version.
Hope you are well away from the wild fires?
TomO

Last edited by tomowensphoto (2016-05-09 02:59:59)


Regards,
TomO
Just a simple photographer
Live site at http://tomowens.openpoint.co.uk/

Offline

#5 2016-05-09 03:04:46

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 16,714
Website

Re: Error suggesting report to TTG

The fires are way up in Alberta, no where near damp Washington state. Yet.


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Backlight 2 test site, Pangolin test site

Offline

#6 2016-05-09 03:11:52

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 16,714
Website

Re: Error suggesting report to TTG

Ben's going to have to take a look at that error. If it's not letting you log in, one thing you could try is deleting the
/backlight/data/admin/master.sq3 database file.
Then log in again. You'll have to go through the initial set up once more.

if that doesn't work, Ben will need Backlight admin login credentials and probably FTP access. You can email those to him.
http://community.theturninggate.net/profile.php?id=101


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Backlight 2 test site, Pangolin test site

Offline

#7 2016-05-09 03:21:29

tomowensphoto
Member
From: Suffolk
Registered: 2012-11-21
Posts: 258
Website

Re: Error suggesting report to TTG

Thanks Rod,
I have just tried logging in from the iPAD in attempt to be sociable and have a change of scenery. Logged in OK but when I clicked on Backlight Settings I get the same error message. I'll email Ben the credentials.
Regards
TomO


Regards,
TomO
Just a simple photographer
Live site at http://tomowens.openpoint.co.uk/

Offline

#8 2016-05-09 03:28:56

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 16,714
Website

Re: Error suggesting report to TTG

could be the .htaccess problem that's been popping up
http://community.theturninggate.net/vie … 063#p37063

fyi, the issue referenced in that post has been addressed for the next update.
http://backlight.theturninggate.net/doc … _changelog


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Backlight 2 test site, Pangolin test site

Offline

#9 2016-05-09 07:25:43

Ben
Moderator
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2012-09-29
Posts: 4,077

Re: Error suggesting report to TTG

Hi Tom,  Backlight attempts to create a number of files and directories under backlight/data/.  One of the directories it tries to create is backlight/data/sessions.  For some reason (perhaps write permissions on backlight/data?) the sessions directory isn't being created.

Have you tried both 755 and 777 on backlight/data?  CE4 uses ttg-be/data/sessions in the same way that Backlight uses backlight/data/sessions.  It's worth looking at the permissions and ownership of ttg-be/data/ and apply those to backlight/data/ (although ownership, such as 'tom' or whatever login owns your directories may not be settable by you).

Another permission to try is the default, i.e. the permissions your directories are normally given when you upload directories via FTP.  Have a look at the permissions on /backlight, or another directory you've uploaded, and try using those on backlight/data.

If that doesn't fix it, I'm happy to have a look via FTP to see what the problem is.  If that works for you, please email me login details via email.

Offline

#10 2016-05-09 16:31:34

tomowensphoto
Member
From: Suffolk
Registered: 2012-11-21
Posts: 258
Website

Re: Error suggesting report to TTG

Hi Ben,
Thanks for replying to this.
I looked at file permissions in my CE4 instance and they are working with less permissions than I had to set for Backlight.
I decided to delete the BL instance from the server but for some reason Filezilla is unable to delete the installation so I renamed that instance and created a new installation.

Before making any changes to folder permissions I tried to access the Admin console. I then incremented the permissions to 775 with the same error then set the permissions to backlight/data to 777 and backlight/galleries to 777 and got the admin console.
Initial login attempt
mkdir(): Permission denied|#0 /hsphere/local/home/t23728/tomowens.openpoint.co.uk/test/backlight/framework/helpers/GenericApplicationHelper.php(144): ErrorHandler::handleError('../framework/.....') #1 /hsphere/local/home/t23728/tomowens.openpoint.co.uk/test/backlight/framework/helpers/AuthHelper.php(59): GenericApplicationHelper::makeDataDirectoryIfNeeded('../framework/.....') #2 /hsphere/local/home/t23728/tomowens.openpoint.co.uk/test/backlight/framework/init.php(120): AuthHelper::handleSession() #3 /hsphere/local/home/t23728/tomowens.openpoint.co.uk/test/backlight/admin/index.php(17): require_once('/hsphere/local/...') #4 {main}|URL: /test/backlight/admin/index.php

After setting data and galleries folders to 775
mkdir(): Permission denied|#0 /hsphere/local/home/t23728/tomowens.openpoint.co.uk/test/backlight/framework/helpers/GenericApplicationHelper.php(144): ErrorHandler::handleError('../framework/.....') #1 /hsphere/local/home/t23728/tomowens.openpoint.co.uk/test/backlight/framework/helpers/AuthHelper.php(59): GenericApplicationHelper::makeDataDirectoryIfNeeded('../framework/.....') #2 /hsphere/local/home/t23728/tomowens.openpoint.co.uk/test/backlight/framework/init.php(120): AuthHelper::handleSession() #3 /hsphere/local/home/t23728/tomowens.openpoint.co.uk/test/backlight/admin/index.php(17): require_once('/hsphere/local/...') #4 {main}|URL: /test/backlight/admin/index.php

Once logged in with the default credentials I changed and saved the basic first screen without an error this time.
I then went on to create a few extra pages without entering any content and they saved OK.
I navigated back to the Designer menu and bingo error message
[http://tomowens.openpoint.co.uk/Screen% … .16.30.png]

I can check with the ISP about my permissions but all the previous CE4 stuff worked OK under the tomowens.openpoint.co.uk domain.

I've just got to nip out back in 45 minutes or so. If I do not a sensible answer from my ISP, I'll email my FTP credentials. Incidentally in the meantime the guest access for this instance is the same as I mailed you yesterday.
Regards,
TomO


Regards,
TomO
Just a simple photographer
Live site at http://tomowens.openpoint.co.uk/

Offline

#11 2016-05-09 17:10:46

Ben
Moderator
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2012-09-29
Posts: 4,077

Re: Error suggesting report to TTG

Hi Tom,  a bit of a long shot, but were you using 775 rather than 755?  We usually recommend trying 755, and if unsuccessful then 777.

Offline

#12 2016-05-09 17:52:02

tomowensphoto
Member
From: Suffolk
Registered: 2012-11-21
Posts: 258
Website

Re: Error suggesting report to TTG

Hi Ben,
755 was the initial setting where I could not access the Admin console. I changed to 775 but nothing worked until I set 777. I somehow don't like to see 777.
I have just come off the phone to my ISP and I have had to request the re-instatement of a test domain off the root as I cannot create them.
I've been with this ISP for many years and all my telecoms broadband, office lines, mobile web hosting are handled through them and I'm not in the space to have to change everything.
I've asked for the same environment as http:tomowens.openpoint.co.uk so that there are no variables getting in the way.
I'm not sure how quickly they will react to this formal request.
In the meantime, did you want to take a look under the hood? If so I'll email the credentials.
Regards,
TomO


Regards,
TomO
Just a simple photographer
Live site at http://tomowens.openpoint.co.uk/

Offline

#13 2016-05-09 19:52:26

Ben
Moderator
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2012-09-29
Posts: 4,077

Re: Error suggesting report to TTG

Hi Tom, I understand about not wanting to move.  If you have CE4 running successfully then I don't see why Backlight shouldn't be able to run there. The sessions handling is unchanged between the two.  Can you email the credentials and let me know where I can find your CE4 and Backlight installations?

Offline

#14 2016-05-09 19:57:13

tomowensphoto
Member
From: Suffolk
Registered: 2012-11-21
Posts: 258
Website

Re: Error suggesting report to TTG

Will do Ben.


Regards,
TomO
Just a simple photographer
Live site at http://tomowens.openpoint.co.uk/

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB