Community @ The Turning Gate

Support community for TTG plugins and products.

You are not logged in.

#1 2016-05-07 18:56:52

lulu99
Member
Registered: 2014-07-14
Posts: 45

No METADATA displayed

I now tried all but I can't display any METADATA below the Thumbnails or within the large image presentation.

I also just put in the word "Test" into all the fields of the METADATA section, enabled METADATA 01 and 02 in the thumbnail section, but there are still no METADATA on the thumbnail page or within the image presentation. Within the image presentation there is only displayed the image filename always.

Update: Ok, I now created a new Test-Album within Lightroom Publisher and loaded it up. There it is working.

And I just learned that you have to create the Thumbnails again from the old albums and then it is working too.

But I still can only display the filename within the large image presentation.

Last edited by lulu99 (2016-05-07 19:47:33)

Offline

#2 2016-05-07 21:16:33

Matthew
Administrator
From: San Francisco, CA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 5,603
Website

Re: No METADATA displayed

The way the gallery is coded at present, if there is no caption provided, then the file name will be displayed. I am open to feedback on this logic.


Campagna Pictures, http://campagnapictures.com
The Turning Gate, http://theturninggate.net

Offline

#3 2016-05-07 21:32:07

lulu99
Member
Registered: 2014-07-14
Posts: 45

Re: No METADATA displayed

The gallerie is working fine for me now with meta 1 and 2.

My problem still is that in the photoswipe large gallerie there are no metadatas. In CE4 there was metadata 01 above the picture and metadata 02 below when I right remember. Now I only see the filename at the bottom, that is all.

Offline

#4 2016-05-07 21:56:41

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 16,714
Website

Re: No METADATA displayed

Metadata shows only at the bottom. But you can put as many metadata tokens there as you like. Plus your own text.
For example:
{Filename}  |  {Caption}


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Backlight 2 test site, Pangolin test site

Offline

#5 2016-05-07 22:12:26

lulu99
Member
Registered: 2014-07-14
Posts: 45

Re: No METADATA displayed

Thanks Rod.

Last edited by lulu99 (2016-05-07 22:17:34)

Offline

#6 2016-05-08 00:39:35

lulu99
Member
Registered: 2014-07-14
Posts: 45

Re: No METADATA displayed

Hm, still searching, which value do I have to change that I get displayed my selected metadata in the photoswipe large gallerie at the bottom?

Last edited by lulu99 (2016-05-08 00:39:49)

Offline

#7 2016-05-08 01:12:20

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 16,714
Website

Re: No METADATA displayed

in your album template, go to the Image Settings > Image Metadata

You'll need to republish your albums. In the Lightroom Publisher settings, check the "Push metadata ..." box to make this faster.


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Backlight 2 test site, Pangolin test site

Offline

#8 2016-05-08 01:59:41

lulu99
Member
Registered: 2014-07-14
Posts: 45

Re: No METADATA displayed

Ah, now I got it. Thank you so much Rod.

Some steps are easy and some hard with the new version.... :-)

Offline

#9 2016-05-09 00:07:36

Pfredd
Member
Registered: 2014-04-16
Posts: 187

Re: No METADATA displayed

rod barbee wrote:

Metadata shows only at the bottom. But you can put as many metadata tokens there as you like. Plus your own text.
For example:
{Filename}  |  {Caption}

Any way to get a newline in there so that the Filename appears above the caption?

Offline

#10 2016-05-09 00:26:33

Matthew
Administrator
From: San Francisco, CA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 5,603
Website

Re: No METADATA displayed

I don't think Photoswipe supports HTML formatting in the captions.


Campagna Pictures, http://campagnapictures.com
The Turning Gate, http://theturninggate.net

Offline

#11 2016-05-09 01:07:43

Pfredd
Member
Registered: 2014-04-16
Posts: 187

Re: No METADATA displayed

Matt,

The Photoswipe demo album at: http://photoswipe.com/#&gid=1&pid=1 shows a caption and, on a separate line, the photographer's name.

Is there a way you can use that to have two assignable text boxes below the large photoswipe photo in Backlight?

Offline

#12 2016-05-09 08:32:40

Matthew
Administrator
From: San Francisco, CA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 5,603
Website

Re: No METADATA displayed

In that example, he's using a separate, custom data-author attribute on the image, and sourcing that to process into the caption with extra Javascript.


Campagna Pictures, http://campagnapictures.com
The Turning Gate, http://theturninggate.net

Offline

#13 2016-05-09 08:37:24

Matthew
Administrator
From: San Francisco, CA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 5,603
Website

Re: No METADATA displayed

I've just found a way to do HTML in the captions, but it cannot be used at the moment. Backlight uses the same content for the image's alt attribute as for the caption, and the alt attribute should not contain HTML. I would need to come up with some way of separating the two, which would require reworking some things.


Campagna Pictures, http://campagnapictures.com
The Turning Gate, http://theturninggate.net

Offline

#14 2016-05-09 09:02:20

Pfredd
Member
Registered: 2014-04-16
Posts: 187

Re: No METADATA displayed

Appreciate the effort!

Offline

#15 2016-05-09 10:08:58

Ben
Moderator
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2012-09-29
Posts: 4,077

Re: No METADATA displayed

Matt, strip_tags($caption) could do the trick for the alt attribute.  Without any further parameters, that will convert something like:

<p>Test paragraph.</p><!-- Comment --> <a href="#fragment">Other text</a>

to

Test paragraph. Other text

(example taken from: http://php.net/manual/en/function.strip-tags.php)

Offline

#16 2016-05-09 10:22:55

Matthew
Administrator
From: San Francisco, CA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 5,603
Website

Re: No METADATA displayed

Thanks, Ben. I'll do some experimenting to see how that works with feeding HTML into the captions setup. big_smile


Campagna Pictures, http://campagnapictures.com
The Turning Gate, http://theturninggate.net

Offline

#17 2016-05-09 10:33:46

Matthew
Administrator
From: San Francisco, CA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 5,603
Website

Re: No METADATA displayed

Well, HTML is a no-go in the metadata fields in Backlight. It parses out to something like this:

&lt;strong&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;br /&gt;&lt;small&gt;&lt;/small&gt;

Which I'm sure is something we did intentionally, to prevent users breaking things. But it means that if we're going to allow formatting within captions, it will need to be handled differently. Mixing metadata tokens with HTML isn't going to work, and nor should it.


Campagna Pictures, http://campagnapictures.com
The Turning Gate, http://theturninggate.net

Offline

#18 2016-05-09 11:10:56

Ben
Moderator
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2012-09-29
Posts: 4,077

Re: No METADATA displayed

There's probably a call to htmlspecialchars somewhere in Publisher:

http://php.net/manual/en/function.htmlspecialchars.php

Offline

#19 2016-05-09 20:37:42

Pfredd
Member
Registered: 2014-04-16
Posts: 187

Re: No METADATA displayed

I was not intending to put HTML in the photo's metadata.

What I was thinking was being able to put HTML in Backlight's "Photos Caption" field in the Album Template.

Something like:

{Title} <br>  {Caption}

Offline

#20 2016-05-10 00:39:37

Matthew
Administrator
From: San Francisco, CA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 5,603
Website

Re: No METADATA displayed

Yeah, that's what I was saying doesn't work. We sanitize all input going through that field. This serves to prevent users from breaking the page's code by using quotation marks and apostrophes in their captions, as they should be able to do. This converts characters into longform entities, so quotations marks go from " to &quot;, and HTML tags go from <span> to &lt;span&gt;.


Campagna Pictures, http://campagnapictures.com
The Turning Gate, http://theturninggate.net

Offline

#21 2016-05-11 20:19:59

chris.palmer
Member
From: Guildford, UK
Registered: 2014-07-19
Posts: 56

Re: No METADATA displayed

With regard to lack of Caption falling back to Filename, my preference would be to fall back to Title if there is one, otherwise to Filename.

Regards
Chris

Offline

#22 2016-05-11 20:32:56

Matthew
Administrator
From: San Francisco, CA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 5,603
Website

Re: No METADATA displayed

That's reasonable, and reasonably easy to do. Good idea.


Campagna Pictures, http://campagnapictures.com
The Turning Gate, http://theturninggate.net

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB