Community @ The Turning Gate

Support community for TTG plugins and products.

NOTICE

The Turning Gate's Community has moved to a new home, at https://discourse.theturninggate.net.

This forum is now closed, and exists here as a read-only archive.

  • New user registrations are disabled.
  • Users cannot create new topics.
  • Users cannot reply to existing topics.

You are not logged in.

#1 2014-08-30 05:47:25

Ken
Member
Registered: 2013-03-16
Posts: 314
Website

Background Texture Possible?

Is it possible to use a background texture instead of a color tint or gradient?

Offline

#2 2014-08-30 06:09:02

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 17,830
Website

Re: Background Texture Possible?

sure. use a repeating image for the background
you'll need to do it via custom css. this should get you going in the right direction: http://ce3wiki.theturninggate.net/doku. … ound-image


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Backlight 2/3 test site

Offline

#3 2014-08-30 20:43:10

Ken
Member
Registered: 2013-03-16
Posts: 314
Website

Re: Background Texture Possible?

rod barbee wrote:

sure. use a repeating image for the background
you'll need to do it via custom css. this should get you going in the right direction: http://ce3wiki.theturninggate.net/doku. … ound-image

I updated my custom css file by adding the lines in your link, making sure to correctly update the line with the url link. There is no change in the background of my test website. I know that the custom css file is working, because I previously set it up to remove the discount field in the cart, which it correctly accomplishes.

Do I also need to change something in the Pages LR template? I thought the custom css file was suppose to over ride. Here is the custom css file:

.discount-entry {
display: none;
}
body {
    background-attachment: scroll;
    background-image: url(webtest/phplugins/images/bkgrd3.jpg);
    background-position: center top;
    background-repeat: repeat;
    }

I do not know if this helps, but here is the link to my test website:

http://www.ioscapes.com/webtest/

Last edited by Ken (2014-08-30 20:49:26)

Offline

#4 2014-08-30 21:46:57

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 17,830
Website

Re: Background Texture Possible?

Looks like the problem is the url to the image. Try putting a / in front:
url(/webtest/phplugins/images/bkgrd3.jpg)

Last edited by rod barbee (2014-08-30 21:47:22)


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Backlight 2/3 test site

Offline

#5 2014-08-30 23:35:43

Ken
Member
Registered: 2013-03-16
Posts: 314
Website

Re: Background Texture Possible?

rod barbee wrote:

Looks like the problem is the url to the image. Try putting a / in front:
url(/webtest/phplugins/images/bkgrd3.jpg)

oops smile

Offline

#6 2015-03-16 01:59:40

cwazywabit
Member
Registered: 2013-12-26
Posts: 71

Re: Background Texture Possible?

okay im having the same issue with a test site ive moved the image location to keep the addy simple in case it was that somebody spot something please haha
http://www.jayclappphotography.co.uk/bron/ is the addy for the test site
red screen test on the css works so its working up till there

body {
    background-attachment: scroll;
    background-image: url(/http://www.jayclappphotography.co.uk/bron/2.jpg);
    background-position: center top;
    background-repeat: repeat; important!;
    }

any ideas ?

ce4 for wordpress by the way i just noticed where the thread was after i posted

Last edited by cwazywabit (2015-03-16 02:03:49)

Offline

#7 2015-03-16 02:27:52

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 17,830
Website

Re: Background Texture Possible?

your custom css file is not being called. Make sure you've enabled phplugins and have enabled the custom css portion of the phplugins.php file. Also make sure you edit the path to the custom.css file to reflect that fact that you're in a sub folder


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Backlight 2/3 test site

Offline

#8 2015-03-16 02:31:31

cwazywabit
Member
Registered: 2013-12-26
Posts: 71

Re: Background Texture Possible?

that bit of code was from my custom css file and when i deleted the appropriate lines in phplugins it went red as its supposed to so i am not sure what you mean

Offline

#9 2015-03-16 02:47:14

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 17,830
Website

Re: Background Texture Possible?

when I look at the page source from the link you provided, the code that calls the custom css file is missing. I should appear just before the closing head tag </head>

This means that the phplugins file is not being used. So either the path to your phplugins file is incorrect or you haven't enabled phplugins or the part of the phplugins that enables custom css is not functioning (perhaps it's still commented out).


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Backlight 2/3 test site

Offline

#10 2015-03-16 03:14:06

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 17,830
Website

Re: Background Texture Possible?

in fact, it doesn't look like you even have a phplugins folder for that site.

If I look here: http://www.jayclappphotography.co.uk/phplugins/path.php I get a 404 error.
Same thing if I look here: http://www.jayclappphotography.co.uk/br … s/path.php


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Backlight 2/3 test site

Offline

#11 2015-03-16 03:28:25

cwazywabit
Member
Registered: 2013-12-26
Posts: 71

Re: Background Texture Possible?

Offline

#12 2015-03-16 03:47:54

Daniel Leu
Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-11
Posts: 1,624
Website

Re: Background Texture Possible?

The CSS for the background should be

    background-image: url("http://www.jayclappphotography.co.uk/bron/2.jpg");

Last edited by Daniel Leu (2015-03-16 03:49:27)


Daniel Leu | Photography   
DanielLeu.com
My digital playground (eg, Backlight tips&tricks): lab.DanielLeu.com

Offline

#13 2015-03-16 04:38:01

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 17,830
Website

Re: Background Texture Possible?

your background image is appearing in the footer. The reason to don't see it elsewhere is that you have colors or gradients assigned to the various page areas.
If you want that background for the entire page, go through Site Info and make sure  page container background-color is unchecked as well as Navigation, Social Media, etc.

In Color Palette and Appearance, also make sure Background-color is unchecked for both the block and the grid.


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Backlight 2/3 test site

Offline

#14 2015-03-16 05:00:57

cwazywabit
Member
Registered: 2013-12-26
Posts: 71

Re: Background Texture Possible?

yep all sorted now many thanks for the help rod smile star as always smile

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB