Community @ The Turning Gate

Support community for TTG plugins and products.

NOTICE

The Turning Gate's Community has moved to a new home, at https://discourse.theturninggate.net.

This forum is now closed, and exists here as a read-only archive.

  • New user registrations are disabled.
  • Users cannot create new topics.
  • Users cannot reply to existing topics.

You are not logged in.

#1 2019-10-17 12:55:45

tgalex
Member
From: Saline, Michigan
Registered: 2016-06-22
Posts: 102
Website

Width of submenu drop down on horizontal menu

Quick question:  Is there a way to size the width of the dropdown submenu tray so that album titles are not cut off?  I could not find a setting for it so assume there may be some CSS that might work?  Thanks!

Offline

#2 2019-10-17 14:33:09

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 17,830
Website

Re: Width of submenu drop down on horizontal menu

yep, custom css.
I'm using this:

.nav.nav_h ul.primary-menu ul.sub-menu {
		width: 300px;
}

that will affect all sub-menus you may have.

If you only want to target a specific menu, use a -child psuedo selector:

.nav.nav_h ul.primary-menu li:nth-child(2) ul.sub-menu  {
		width: 550px;
	}

Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Backlight 2/3 test site

Offline

#3 2019-10-17 14:35:30

tgalex
Member
From: Saline, Michigan
Registered: 2016-06-22
Posts: 102
Website

Re: Width of submenu drop down on horizontal menu

thanks Rod - much appreciated!

Offline

#4 2019-10-24 11:41:57

Matthew
Administrator
From: San Francisco, CA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 5,795
Website

Re: Width of submenu drop down on horizontal menu

Uh ... if you're going to mess with that, just be careful to ensure that your changes don't complete mess things up on phones. By default, the pallet has a fixed width to a point, and then just takes up I think 85% of the width, which allows it to not be busted on iPhones 320px wide or whatever.

I've put a lot of thought and safety measures into this aspect of the page layout, so just be careful not to hang yourself with all the rope you're taking. ;-)


Matt

The Turning Gate, http://theturninggate.net

Offline

#5 2019-10-24 12:33:30

tgalex
Member
From: Saline, Michigan
Registered: 2016-06-22
Posts: 102
Website

Re: Width of submenu drop down on horizontal menu

Thanks Matthew - I have an iPhone and the horizontal menu is not activated on it - just vertical.  The slight widening to 300 px covers the title length for that block and does not seem to change anything on the vertical so I think I’m ok with it.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB