Community @ The Turning Gate

Support community for TTG plugins and products.

You are not logged in.

#1 2018-06-25 15:58:02

ShawWellPete
Member
Registered: 2013-03-24
Posts: 132

Moving to a new host

Hi guys,

I currently have www.peterblandford.com hosted at powweb, it is a CE4 pages site which uses galleries and publisher. I would like to move the domain to Krystal. I have copied over all the site to the new hosts via FTP and naively hoped that changing the DNS to the new host would work, it didn't, the site came up but with errors and galleries all over the place.

I assume there are some settings that need to be change? I would rather not upload the whole site again as I have some hi res files on there and my upload speed is very slow.

Thank you for your help.

Offline

#2 2018-06-25 22:20:23

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 15,252
Website

Re: Moving to a new host

it's been a long time since I changed hosts, but I seem to remember that the new host handled all the moving of files. I just needed to point the site to the new host and wait for that to propagate. Have you asked your new host how they handle the sites of customers who are moving existing sites to their service?

As far as your CE4 files, the only thing I can think of is if you're using phplugins for anything. You'll need to get the new server path, enter that into the plugins, and re-upload Pages and all templates (if using Publisher) or all album sets and albums (if not using Publisher)


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Pangolin test site, Backlight 1.1.1 test site

Offline

#3 2018-06-25 23:33:39

ShawWellPete
Member
Registered: 2013-03-24
Posts: 132

Re: Moving to a new host

Thanks Rod, the files have all been moved over. I got some weird results when I moved the pointers yesterday so I reverted to the old hosts. I just tried it again and everything looks fine!

https://www.whatsmydns.net/#NS/peterblandford.com
http://www.peterblandford.com

I had phplugins enabled but haven't used them in this site so I think I'll leave it as is.

It may be time to move to to backlight. If I already have a galleries uploaded in this format http://www.peterblandford.com/galleries.php  is there a way to upgrade to backlight without having to upload all the galleries again?

Offline

#4 2018-06-26 01:00:34

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 15,252
Website

Re: Moving to a new host

Since it looks like you're using Publisher, Backlight has a migration tool that will transfer control of your existing albums and album sets over to Backlight
http://backlight.theturninggate.net/doc … _backlight

Here's more on moving from CE4 to Backlight
http://ttg-tips-and-tricks.barbeephoto. … backlight/


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Pangolin test site, Backlight 1.1.1 test site

Offline

#5 2018-06-26 02:43:36

ShawWellPete
Member
Registered: 2013-03-24
Posts: 132

Re: Moving to a new host

Thanks Rod

Offline

#6 2018-06-26 19:27:28

ShawWellPete
Member
Registered: 2013-03-24
Posts: 132

Re: Moving to a new host

It looks like there was an issue after all.

I have migrated all the files to Krystal but when I look at the galleries they are all in the root directory rather than being in the subdirectories I had them in before.

I have set up a temporary URL at Krystal and left the domain pointing to the old site

old site galleries http://www.peterblandford.com/galleries.php
new site galleries http://peterblandford.sites.k-hosting.c … leries.php

Any ideas?

Offline

#7 2018-06-26 21:12:21

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 15,252
Website

Re: Moving to a new host

the reason your gallery images aren’t showing may be due to the Site URL setting in Site Info. It should match the actual url of the site:

http://peterblandford.sites.k-hosting.co.uk/

For example, from the new url, if I click on the Home link I’m taken to the old site location.

Once the new location is using the old url, it may work as expected.


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Pangolin test site, Backlight 1.1.1 test site

Offline

#8 2018-06-26 23:21:34

ShawWellPete
Member
Registered: 2013-03-24
Posts: 132

Re: Moving to a new host

rod barbee wrote:

the reason your gallery images aren’t showing may be due to the Site URL setting in Site Info. It should match the actual url of the site:

http://peterblandford.sites.k-hosting.co.uk/

For example, from the new url, if I click on the Home link I’m taken to the old site location.

Once the new location is using the old url, it may work as expected.


Thanks Rod,

Something weird is going on. I have moved the DNS pointers to the new site so the site root URL is now the actual URL on the site. It looks ok on my laptop but when I look at it on a different machine the galleries are no longer organised and everything is in the main galleries page.

What do you see on http://www.peterblandford.com/galleries.php ?

Any ideas?

Offline

#9 2018-06-26 23:27:36

ShawWellPete
Member
Registered: 2013-03-24
Posts: 132

Re: Moving to a new host

Actually, have cleared the cache on my laptop and that shows the galleries all in the root gallery rather than organised too.

Offline

#10 2018-06-27 00:20:12

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 15,252
Website

Re: Moving to a new host

I see 16 items on the Galleries page, including some album sets and some albums.
If this isn't the same organization as you have in Lightroom Publisher, then you'll probably need to have Ben dive into it. He'd likely need both Backlight Admin and FTP credentials.


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Pangolin test site, Backlight 1.1.1 test site

Offline

#11 2018-06-27 00:25:36

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 15,252
Website

Re: Moving to a new host

This is what I'm seeing:
blandford.jpg


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Pangolin test site, Backlight 1.1.1 test site

Offline

#12 2018-06-27 00:37:22

ShawWellPete
Member
Registered: 2013-03-24
Posts: 132

Re: Moving to a new host

Weird, that is what you should get Rod, and that is what I am now getting on my laptop too, but on my work PC I now get everything on the front page like this...

pbproblem.jpg

Could it be a dns propagation issue? I have cleared the browser cache

Last edited by ShawWellPete (2018-06-27 00:48:24)

Offline

#13 2018-06-27 00:39:41

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 15,252
Website

Re: Moving to a new host

can't see your screen shot. Here's how to post it: http://community.theturninggate.net/vie … hp?id=7046


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Pangolin test site, Backlight 1.1.1 test site

Offline

#14 2018-06-27 00:41:11

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 15,252
Website

Re: Moving to a new host

Have you tried looking in other browsers?


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Pangolin test site, Backlight 1.1.1 test site

Offline

#15 2018-06-27 00:52:33

ShawWellPete
Member
Registered: 2013-03-24
Posts: 132

Re: Moving to a new host

I have fixed the image link in the post above, can you see it?

I'm Getting the result depending on the machine I use, not browser dependant.

#confused

Last edited by ShawWellPete (2018-06-27 04:23:08)

Offline

#16 2018-06-27 17:44:34

ShawWellPete
Member
Registered: 2013-03-24
Posts: 132

Re: Moving to a new host

I am now getting this on all machines, so as the NDS propagates, the site on the new host doesn't work, any ideas?

pbproblem.jpg

Offline

#17 2018-06-27 21:38:03

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 15,252
Website

Re: Moving to a new host

I don’t know. Does your new host comply with TTG requirements?

What does the file system look like when you look at the Galleries folder via FTP


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Pangolin test site, Backlight 1.1.1 test site

Offline

#18 2018-06-27 21:43:58

ShawWellPete
Member
Registered: 2013-03-24
Posts: 132

Re: Moving to a new host

Thanks Rod, I think you have found the problem!

Looking via FTP I have somehow messed up the file structure when copying the galleries over

Sorting it now

Offline

#19 2018-07-02 16:57:16

ShawWellPete
Member
Registered: 2013-03-24
Posts: 132

Re: Moving to a new host

Thanks for your help Rod, that is sorted, I had copied over an old version via FTP rather than the version I had downloaded.

I have another issue, I set up a new post to keep things tidy http://community.theturninggate.net/vie … 252#p53252

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB