Community @ The Turning Gate

Support community for TTG plugins and products.

You are not logged in.

#1 2017-03-23 05:16:21

mark_barron
Member
Registered: 2014-03-31
Posts: 43

No Navigation

I've tried to setup a page without any navigation.  Turned off, in options and all places I can find.
But when the page is resized to the "mobile" nav displays.

tried some PHPlugin settings.

http://iproof.me/slide/galleries/colorbadges/

Love Lightroom/Backlight ease to push new photos to website with one place to modify Meta Data.

top slideshows are from CS4, bottom is Backlight.

http://www.graphicelectronics.com/badges.html


Ideas folks?

Offline

#2 2017-03-23 06:51:40

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 14,354
Website

Re: No Navigation

In your page template did you go to Navigation, Trays and set Disabled under Display?
I see that no navigation shows up in the tray but you still have the mobile menu icon.
You can remove this with custom css.

for that specific page, you could try:

.slug-colorbadges .nav__icon {
  display: none;
}

In the page template under UI Styling, set the background and button background to be the same color.


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Pangolin test site, Backlight 1.1.1 test site

Offline

#3 2017-03-25 01:50:21

mark_barron
Member
Registered: 2014-03-31
Posts: 43

Re: No Navigation

Thanks.  You've always been great at helping.  Been a while since I undertook CS4 with your help.

I understand the code.  Just don't know enough to know the right file/line to put that in.

Offline

#4 2017-03-25 02:11:11

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 14,354
Website

Re: No Navigation


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Pangolin test site, Backlight 1.1.1 test site

Offline

#5 2017-03-25 03:00:26

mark_barron
Member
Registered: 2014-03-31
Posts: 43

Re: No Navigation

thanks..

left the UI Styling Green to see if the button actually goes away vs white/white

put your css code above the html,  it removes the three horizontal lines, but not the function of the icon.

I keep poking and hoping

http://iproof.me/slide/galleries/colorbadges/

Offline

#6 2017-03-25 06:15:22

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 14,354
Website

Re: No Navigation

not sure, but I think that functionality is triggered by javascript.


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Pangolin test site, Backlight 1.1.1 test site

Offline

#7 2017-03-25 14:00:44

Matthew
Administrator
From: Seoul, South Korea
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 5,241
Website

Re: No Navigation

Actually, the tray buttons are entirely HTML and CSS; no JS. They bind to hidden checkboxes.

Can you not achieve the desired effect by setting the "Display" option as "Disabled" for both the Navigation Header and Tray sections?


Campagna Pictures, http://campagnapictures.com
The Turning Gate, http://theturninggate.net

Offline

#8 2017-03-25 21:22:16

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 14,354
Website

Re: No Navigation

Just curious, is that hidden checkbox the label?


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Pangolin test site, Backlight 1.1.1 test site

Offline

#9 2017-03-26 03:27:07

mark_barron
Member
Registered: 2014-03-31
Posts: 43

Re: No Navigation

Trying Tray widths now, zero breakpoint, no margins, tray widths zero, disabled masthead, disabled navigation header, disabled navigation trays..
. poke and hope programing?

The Top Left Menu Button stays active when browser is narrow.
click it an it hides everything.

Offline

#10 2017-03-26 23:43:08

mark_barron
Member
Registered: 2014-03-31
Posts: 43

Re: No Navigation

The color is set with UI style,  button background-color
Remove nav settings does not remove the mobile button to open up the mobile menu, just the menu.

Offline

#11 2017-03-27 11:59:01

Matthew
Administrator
From: Seoul, South Korea
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 5,241
Website

Re: No Navigation

rod barbee wrote:

Just curious, is that hidden checkbox the label?

Labels and checkboxes are separate elements, but can be paired:

<input type="checkbox" id="seoul" />
<label for="seoul">Seoul</label>

When paired, clicking the label will activate the checkbox. So we hide the checkboxes, and the toggle buttons on-screen are labels. We then use the :checked pseudo-class in our CSS to display or hide the trays.


Campagna Pictures, http://campagnapictures.com
The Turning Gate, http://theturninggate.net

Offline

#12 2017-03-28 02:12:59

mark_barron
Member
Registered: 2014-03-31
Posts: 43

Re: No Navigation

Not sure what I need to do to truly turn OFF the navigation as the programs indicates it should do. 

The standard Mobile Menu Button must be separate code from Backlight menus.  How can that be disabled.

Changing colors, pairing text and check boxes don't seem to address disabling the button.

Offline

#13 2017-03-28 13:59:23

Matthew
Administrator
From: Seoul, South Korea
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 5,241
Website

Re: No Navigation

I think I removed that option a while back because no one was using it, and the only use that it was seeing was being used in error, resulting in a lot of "why don't I have navigation on mobile?!" questions.

Your best solution at the moment is to force hide the trigger button using CSS.

.page__toggle__label { display: none !important; }

I'm building mechanisms into 1.2 that will hopefully allow menus to be fully disabled, while hopefully being clear enough that people won't disable their menus inadvertently as was happening before.


Campagna Pictures, http://campagnapictures.com
The Turning Gate, http://theturninggate.net

Offline

#14 2017-03-30 00:12:16

mark_barron
Member
Registered: 2014-03-31
Posts: 43

Re: No Navigation

Thanks.  I speak for all those who do dumb things.  If the program says Disable Navigation and you check that box.  Then asking "why don't I have navigation on mobile?!" has an easy answer.  Don't check that box!

Can't get that line to work. 
Simple CSS below with Rob's code works to change the color of the horizontal bars. 
But the button still exists.

Certainly I'm keeping up with my theme of doing dumb things. 

Any Ideas?



.page__toggle__label { display: none !important; }

.slug-colorbadges .nav__icon {
  display: none;
}

html,
body,

Offline

#15 2017-03-30 01:24:34

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 14,354
Website

Re: No Navigation

you could just wait for the next version of Backlight. It has an option to completely disable navigation. Assuming Matt leaves it in. It seems to work as it should.

(that code didn't work for me either)


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Pangolin test site, Backlight 1.1.1 test site

Offline

#16 2017-03-30 01:54:47

mark_barron
Member
Registered: 2014-03-31
Posts: 43

Re: No Navigation

thanks Rod...  with my poke and hope coding i'm never sure.

i'm old school.. let me grab a few punch cards and run the program.

does the slug-colorbages .nav_icon{.... 
have a universal .slug-Everything .nav{...   version?

Offline

#17 2017-03-30 02:24:19

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 14,354
Website

Re: No Navigation

does the slug-colorbages .nav_icon{....
have a universal .slug-Everything .nav{...   version?

Yes, just remove .slug-colorbadges. That selector is specific to the colorbadges page.

Each page has a few body classes. One of them is based on the page type (.type-album-set, .type-album, .type-page), another is based on the page slug. In this case, .slug-colorbadges. This way you can write css that's specific to a page type and/or a specific page itself (slug). I'm hoping for another one that's specific to template name.

You can look at a page's source code to see what classes are applied to the <body> tag.


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Pangolin test site, Backlight 1.1.1 test site

Offline

#18 2017-06-30 23:45:21

mark_barron
Member
Registered: 2014-03-31
Posts: 43

Re: No Navigation

Long awaited update to hopefully fix No Navigation Option.. 
The mobile icon still shows, and but with the improved "Mobil Menu Error" message when the page is reduced
Isn't Mobil a gas station?

http://iproof.me/slide/galleries/colorbadges/

Any new ideas?

Offline

#19 2017-06-30 23:52:37

Matthew
Administrator
From: Seoul, South Korea
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 5,241
Website

Re: No Navigation

Hi Mark,

I don't know what that error is.

In any case, that page is still using the older okapi modules, so is not much impacted by the 1.2 update.

If you want to go with zero navigation in pangolin, you should be able to manage it, as follows.

Create a new page template using Pangolin Page. Set the following options:

Layout
  Columns : One Column

Navigation => Horizontal Navigation
  Location : Disabled

Navigation => Vertical Navigation
  Location : Disabled


Campagna Pictures, http://campagnapictures.com
The Turning Gate, http://theturninggate.net

Offline

#20 2017-07-01 03:12:59

mark_barron
Member
Registered: 2014-03-31
Posts: 43

Re: No Navigation

Ok.. fell into that solution.  I'm an engineer, when all else fails... read the manual.

I am having problems getting the file meta data to display either in thumbnail or slideshow.

Banging around with colors to see what helps.

Classic seems to have space for the text, but can't see anything.
Slideshow does not seem to have any space for the text to be.

here is the one page I'm beating up to see what happens.

even added fixed text to the medadata token line to force text.

http://www.iproof.me/galleries/20badges/50backing/

Last edited by mark_barron (2017-07-01 03:51:10)

Offline

#21 2017-07-01 03:54:17

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 14,354
Website

Re: No Navigation

I am having problems getting the file meta data to display either in thumbnail or slideshow.

whenever you make any changes to these settings in the template, you'll also need to republish the images.


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Pangolin test site, Backlight 1.1.1 test site

Offline

#22 2017-07-01 09:51:38

Matthew
Administrator
From: Seoul, South Korea
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 5,241
Website

Re: No Navigation

rod barbee wrote:

whenever you make any changes to these settings in the template, you'll also need to republish the images.

Well, re-publish the image metadata at least. you can use the publisher option to only update metadata by double-clicking the publish service in Lightroom to access its options. This lets you update metadata without having to upload new images, making it much faster.


Campagna Pictures, http://campagnapictures.com
The Turning Gate, http://theturninggate.net

Offline

#23 2017-07-04 08:03:21

mark_barron
Member
Registered: 2014-03-31
Posts: 43

Re: No Navigation

Thanks again..   put the cart before the horse again.  Updated files, re published all..  the started moving to  new pages...etc.      When in doubt, re-publish!

Offline

#24 2018-01-10 13:10:41

phodographer
Member
Registered: 2013-01-16
Posts: 12

Re: No Navigation

I'm having the same problem—can't get rid of Tray button, which is supposedly disabled in page template (trays & header). Just a simple client select page (https://businessportraitsnyc.com/client … ithjohn034)

Offline

#25 2018-01-10 23:25:48

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 14,354
Website

Re: No Navigation

Since you're still using the Okapi (Backlight 1.1.) modules, I think you'll need custom css to remove those buttons.
the option you're referring to disables navigation, it does not remove the button.

This seems to work:

body[data-layout~="1col"][data-layout~="left"] .page__toggle__trigger[for="page__toggle__T1"] {
	display:none;
}

The other option is to upgrade to the latest version of Backlight and disable the vertical navigation in the template (which removes the button in one column layouts)
see this from above: http://community.theturninggate.net/vie … 601#p46601


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Pangolin test site, Backlight 1.1.1 test site

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB