Community @ The Turning Gate

Support community for TTG plugins and products.

You are not logged in.

#1 2017-08-29 19:15:22

dunmain
Member
Registered: 2016-09-20
Posts: 8

delete vs remove from service

Hello Backlighters

I am hoping some one can help on the following: Upon wanting to remove a gallery from my website (www.mainundmain.com) From the two options I clicked 'remove from service' instead of 'delete' - thinking this meant it would remove the album from my website but leave the option to republish from lightroom. doh - wrong.  It has removed it from lightroom but left it on my website.

I still need to delete the album but now Lightroom no longer has access so how do I do this? i tried to recreate the album by using the same name but this just adds a second album to my website with the same name.

Any one else had this issue and figured it out?

Thoughts much appreciated.

Greetings from the Harz Germany

Offline

#2 2017-08-29 19:23:09

dunmain
Member
Registered: 2016-09-20
Posts: 8

Re: delete vs remove from service

Got it figured, for anyone else who made this error go to:
backlight -publisher-toplevel galleries - albums- choose your album then delete

Last edited by dunmain (2017-08-29 19:24:42)

Offline

#3 2017-08-29 21:08:05

Ben
Moderator
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2012-09-29
Posts: 3,237

Re: delete vs remove from service

That's not the usual behaviour.  "Remove from service" should remove it from your website.

Online

#4 2017-08-29 23:13:16

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 13,164
Website

Re: delete vs remove from service

Hi Ben,

I'm seeing the same behavior. Deleting album but leaving it on the service leaves the album on the site and viewable.


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Backlight 1.1.1 test site, Pangolin test site

Offline

#5 2017-08-30 07:15:48

Ben
Moderator
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2012-09-29
Posts: 3,237

Re: delete vs remove from service

This is working as-expected for me. 

1. Right-click album
2. Click 'Delete'
3. I am presented with a dialog box with three options: Leave On Service, Cancel and Delete.

Leave On Service: this removes it from Lightroom, but not on the server.  As expected.
Cancel: does nothing.  As expected.
Delete: Deletes in both LR and on the server.  As expected.

Rod and Andy, are you seeing different behaviour?  Do you see options other than those listed?  I don't see a "Remove from Service" option, only a "Leave on Service", which has the opposite meaning.

Online

#6 2017-08-30 07:30:49

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 13,164
Website

Re: delete vs remove from service

Hi Ben,

I think the expected behavior for the original poster is that the Leave on Service option would remove the album from the web site but leave it on the server (with the option to later reinstate it)
(admittedly, I thought it meant that the album would be removed but the images left on the server--I'd never actually tried it until now)

Dunmain, if that's what you meant, then instead, choose the "Hide from Album Set" option for the album.


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Backlight 1.1.1 test site, Pangolin test site

Offline

#7 2017-08-30 07:40:35

Ben
Moderator
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2012-09-29
Posts: 3,237

Re: delete vs remove from service

That makes sense.  "Service" means the server.  Unfortunately, this naming isn't configurable by us to make the meaning clearer.

Online

#8 2017-08-30 07:44:57

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 13,164
Website

Re: delete vs remove from service

makes sense now though smile


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Backlight 1.1.1 test site, Pangolin test site

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB