Community @ The Turning Gate

Support community for TTG plugins and products.

You are not logged in.

#1 2017-01-12 07:54:09

grover_c
Member
Registered: 2016-12-10
Posts: 52

Popup and the mobile menu

Hello,

This is likely an odd question, but I have created a popup form to be used on my Album thumbnail pages.  It works as expected until the mobile menu kicks in, either on a mobile device or by scaling my browser window to the break size at which point the mobile menu covers the popup even though I've used z-index with a very large number to keep the popup on top.  As well the popup's "fixed" setting no longer works and the form is pushed down the page as opposed to being fixed in the center as it is with not in mobile mode.

Any ideas would be much appreciated.

Offline

#2 2017-01-12 08:25:48

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 12,563
Website

Re: Popup and the mobile menu

I'm not seeing the problem with my test pop-ups, at least not on my iPhone.

I am seeing the pop-up cover the mobile menu in desktop browsers when I resize to mobile widths.

Do you have a link so Matt has something to look at?


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Backlight test site

Offline

#3 2017-01-13 02:51:16

grover_c
Member
Registered: 2016-12-10
Posts: 52

Re: Popup and the mobile menu

Sure.  Here is a link to my WIP site.  http://test.bretculp.com/gallery/ireland-photo-gallery/

Press the "Inquire About Prints" button then scale the browser over to less than 1000px wide.   It's probably something I'm doing incorrectly, but I can't figure it out.

BTW, I absolutely love Backlight.  It's one of the smartest purchases I've made.  Thank you Matt!

Offline

#4 2017-01-13 04:04:12

charlie.choc
Member
From: Marietta, GA
Registered: 2014-01-09
Posts: 135
Website

Re: Popup and the mobile menu

Looks fine to me from Chrome on OS/X, did you clear your template cache after making changes? I've found weird things sometimes  happen when you don't.

Last edited by charlie.choc (2017-01-13 04:04:28)

Offline

#5 2017-01-13 07:14:37

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 12,563
Website

Re: Popup and the mobile menu

It's working fine for me in different browsers resized to mobile sizes. Also working fine on my iPhone6 and iPad.

The pop-up sticks just below the header. I can access both the mobile menu and your form.


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Backlight test site

Offline

#6 2017-01-13 11:31:06

grover_c
Member
Registered: 2016-12-10
Posts: 52

Re: Popup and the mobile menu

Yes but the header menu is actually above the popup, unlike the main menu.

I had to add some css after the initial break point, 1000px, otherwise the vertically centered popup would no longer "fix" on the screen but would be pushed down dynamically with the content.  Any ideas?

Offline

#7 2017-01-13 12:06:33

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 12,563
Website

Re: Popup and the mobile menu

so you want the pop up to be covering the navigation menu on both desktop and mobile applications?

I think Matt will need to offer some direction if that's the case


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Backlight test site

Offline

#8 2017-01-13 12:26:28

grover_c
Member
Registered: 2016-12-10
Posts: 52

Re: Popup and the mobile menu

Not necessarily since I've adjusted for it in the css.  If it's normal behavior I'm fine with it – I thought I was doing something wrong. 

One more question, though.  You can scroll to the right on the mobile menu, about double the width, which feels a little sloppy.  It may be something I've done, but, off hand, do you know how to lock it to just the width of the menu itself?

Thanks

Last edited by grover_c (2017-01-13 12:27:02)

Offline

#9 2017-01-13 13:16:26

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 12,563
Website

Re: Popup and the mobile menu

The mobile menu on my test  site does not have the same behavior. My guess is that it's something in your custom CSS.


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Backlight test site

Offline

#10 2017-01-13 13:36:31

grover_c
Member
Registered: 2016-12-10
Posts: 52

Re: Popup and the mobile menu

Adding the following to my mobile css fixed it.  ul.primary-menu.menu {width: 240px !important;}

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB