Community @ The Turning Gate

Support community for TTG plugins and products.

You are not logged in.

#26 2018-09-26 02:35:05

pideja
Member
From: Montreal
Registered: 2013-02-26
Posts: 786

Re: link problem

Sometimes I think it might be simpler to just start over everything but then I would never know what is wrong and it might happen again.

After all, I was just publishing a new Album Set within an existing published site. Can't be that difficult. All settings remained the same.

Can the fact that the site is https have anything to do with it?

Offline

#27 2018-09-26 22:45:12

pideja
Member
From: Montreal
Registered: 2013-02-26
Posts: 786

Re: link problem

Ready to throw in the towel on this one...
The only Albums that work correctly on Chrome, Opera, Safari and Firefox, message and all, are the last three Album Sets :

https://pideja.ca/tnm/galleries/saison-2016-2017/,
https://pideja.ca/tnm/galleries/saison-2017-2018/ 
https://pideja.ca/tnm/galleries/saison-2018-2019/

The first two still have issues with bad links. But I can't find where to change that.
Still looking...before starting all over again!

I now have deleted the two faulty galleries and re-created the gallery Saison 2010-2011 and within it one show:
Le Dieu du carnage
I checked to make sure that all parameters were the same as in the last gallery (we know that one works). After re-publishing, I gained access to the gallery, went to the show and...it linked back to the Client Response Admin page!

So, I checked and compared the source-codes of both galleries as shown in Chrome. I am astonished to see how different they are! How can this be?

If anyone cares to look at both code pages compared, they are here:http://pideja.ca/img/code_differences.pdf

Last edited by pideja (2018-09-27 00:51:18)

Offline

#28 2018-09-27 23:15:25

pideja
Member
From: Montreal
Registered: 2013-02-26
Posts: 786

Re: link problem

OK, I give up! I can't find the error and I fear it's embedded somewhere in Publisher's or Backlight's code and it's too mysterious for me.

So, I decided to rebuild the whole thing in Backlight 2.

Question: I imported the previous site's templates but they are Okapi. Should I use them or stick to the Pangolin templates, assuming I can copy (item by item) all the settings I previously add?

Last edited by pideja (2018-09-27 23:15:55)

Offline

#29 2018-09-28 20:34:58

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 15,206
Website

Re: link problem

You can export your Okapi templates and import them into a new Backlight 2 site. You'll need to install the Okapi modules from the Backlight Modules page.

But if the problem you were having is related to Okapi templates (I don't know why it would be) then you might run into the same problems.
It shouldn't be too difficult to design a new Pangolin template. You may need to change some css selectors if you're using custom css. And if you're using phplugins you'll need to make sure to start with the latest backlight.php phplugins file. And be sure to use the new functions (withou arguements)
See Daniel's post: http://community.theturninggate.net/vie … hp?id=8966


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Pangolin test site, Backlight 1.1.1 test site

Online

#30 2018-09-28 23:58:32

pideja
Member
From: Montreal
Registered: 2013-02-26
Posts: 786

Re: link problem

I decided to go with Backlight 2 and a Pangolin type page set up mainly because of it's the way to go from now on, as I understand it.

So, I spent the money and I am now fumbling my way thru Backlight 2, trying to re-create the website. I'm a bit put off by the Backlight setup layout. I wanted to copy every entry from the preceding (Okapi) version but not all the entries are at the same place or are absent altogether! It's tedious, learning all over again, but I have not much choice. The issue that originally took me here is, to me, insoluble.

So, it's "grin & bear it" for me while I try to figure out Backlight 2.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB