Community @ The Turning Gate

Support community for TTG plugins and products.

You are not logged in.

#1 2018-07-14 00:49:59

magpink
Member
Registered: 2013-03-12
Posts: 12

Error on Publisher installation in Lightroom

when attempting to install TTG Publisher in Lightroom, I got the following error:

"An error occurred while attempting to load this plug-in.
Info.lua: bad header in precompiled chunk"

TTG-Publisher is listed in the Lightroom Plug-in Manager window as "Installed but not working"

Any suggestions?

Offline

#2 2018-07-14 01:33:44

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 14,939
Website

Re: Error on Publisher installation in Lightroom

did the plug-in get renamed during the unzipping process?
it should be TTG-Publisher.lrplugin

what version of Lightroom are you using?


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Pangolin test site, Backlight 1.1.1 test site

Offline

#3 2018-07-14 03:01:41

magpink
Member
Registered: 2013-03-12
Posts: 12

Re: Error on Publisher installation in Lightroom

plugin name is TTG-Publisher.lrplugin

using Lightroom 4.4

Offline

#4 2018-07-14 03:31:14

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 14,939
Website

Re: Error on Publisher installation in Lightroom

How exactly did you try to install?
Did you unzip the Backlight download and then move the plugin folder to another location?


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Pangolin test site, Backlight 1.1.1 test site

Offline

#5 2018-07-14 03:43:16

magpink
Member
Registered: 2013-03-12
Posts: 12

Re: Error on Publisher installation in Lightroom

yep, I followed the instructions http://backlight.theturninggate.net/doc … _publisher

could it matter if the plugin and the lightroom catalog are on different drives?

Offline

#6 2018-07-14 04:22:39

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 14,939
Website

Re: Error on Publisher installation in Lightroom

I don't think so, my catalog is on an external drive and the plugin is on my main drive.

have you tried deleting the plug-in, unzipping it again, and re-installing?


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Pangolin test site, Backlight 1.1.1 test site

Offline

#7 2018-07-14 04:39:48

magpink
Member
Registered: 2013-03-12
Posts: 12

Re: Error on Publisher installation in Lightroom

yes I have already tried that. Also downloaded a 'fresh' copy in case something had gotten corrupted, but that didn't help. Also tried just putting the plug-in into the appropriate Program Files/Adobe folder.

Offline

#8 2018-07-14 05:19:20

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 14,939
Website

Re: Error on Publisher installation in Lightroom

I put mine in the C:\Users\username\AppData\Roaming\Adobe\Lightroom\Modules\ folder. (Windows)

It shows up automatically and I don't need to use the Plugins Manager to install it.


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Pangolin test site, Backlight 1.1.1 test site

Offline

#9 2018-07-14 11:05:45

magpink
Member
Registered: 2013-03-12
Posts: 12

Re: Error on Publisher installation in Lightroom

ooooh, that's interesting. I don't have a Modules folder in there. my other .lrplugin files that show up in Lightroom Plug-in Manager are located at C:\Program Files\Adobe\Adobe Lightroom 4.4\

My old version of TTG_CE3-Publisher, though, is at:
C:\Users\username\AppData\Roaming\Adobe\Lightroom\Web Templates

If I put it in Web Templates, or created a Modules folder, how would LR know to look in there, do you know?

Offline

#10 2018-07-14 13:35:41

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 14,939
Website

Re: Error on Publisher installation in Lightroom

It seems that plugins in the Modules folder get picked up automatically. If LR 4 doesn’t already have one then I doubt that will work.
LR 4 is pretty old and I don’t recall how things were set up.

I believe the installation instructions basically say you can put the plugin anywhere and just use the Plugin Manager to install t.


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Pangolin test site, Backlight 1.1.1 test site

Offline

#11 2018-07-15 01:53:17

magpink
Member
Registered: 2013-03-12
Posts: 12

Re: Error on Publisher installation in Lightroom

I'll update to Lightroom 6 and see if that works.

Offline

#12 2018-07-19 09:36:36

magpink
Member
Registered: 2013-03-12
Posts: 12

Re: Error on Publisher installation in Lightroom

Update: got the Publisher plugin to work in Lightroom 6.

Offline

#13 2018-07-19 10:50:51

admint
Member
Registered: 2013-10-27
Posts: 120
Website

Re: Error on Publisher installation in Lightroom

rod barbee wrote:

It seems that plugins in the Modules folder get picked up automatically. If LR 4 doesn’t already have one then I doubt that will work.
LR 4 is pretty old and I don’t recall how things were set up.

I believe the installation instructions basically say you can put the plugin anywhere and just use the Plugin Manager to install t.

Hmmm... I simply dumped mine in (My) Documents folder since the instructions says put it anywhere. No issues.  I'm running the Creative Cloud version of LR.

Offline

#14 2018-07-19 10:57:50

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 14,939
Website

Re: Error on Publisher installation in Lightroom

You can put it anywhere and us the Plugin Manager to install.
I put it in the Modules folder and it automatically shows up without the need to use the Plugin Manager


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Pangolin test site, Backlight 1.1.1 test site

Offline

#15 2018-07-20 12:29:56

admint
Member
Registered: 2013-10-27
Posts: 120
Website

Re: Error on Publisher installation in Lightroom

rod barbee wrote:

You can put it anywhere and us the Plugin Manager to install.
I put it in the Modules folder and it automatically shows up without the need to use the Plugin Manager

Good tip and one I'll remember the next time I need to set things up.

Thanks.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB