Community @ The Turning Gate

Support community for TTG plugins and products.

You are not logged in.

#1 2017-10-20 04:30:06

btaylorphoto
Member
Registered: 2015-03-04
Posts: 31

SSL in CE4

Hey, guys, I can't figure out what I need to change to get my SSL to work on my CE4 Website.
I changed my settings Company URL to https://www.btaylorphoto.com
not sure if there is any other ones I need to change any help would be greatly appreciated.

Brian

Offline

#2 2017-10-20 04:41:50

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 14,246
Website

Re: SSL in CE4

You may need to change things in the .htaccess file.

Several people have discussed doing this in Backlight sites, so you could try doing a forum search for ssl or https in the Backlight Support forum.


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Pangolin test site, Backlight 1.1.1 test site

Offline

#3 2017-10-20 04:55:02

btaylorphoto
Member
Registered: 2015-03-04
Posts: 31

Re: SSL in CE4

Ok so it should be the same as backlight.

Offline

#4 2017-10-20 05:07:40

charlie.choc
Member
From: Marietta, GA
Registered: 2014-01-09
Posts: 359
Website

Re: SSL in CE4

You have to change cart too if you use that.

Offline

#5 2017-10-20 05:11:58

btaylorphoto
Member
Registered: 2015-03-04
Posts: 31

Re: SSL in CE4

I do not see it in cart settings for CE4 Cart?
Also my site seems to not be working correctly no it shows my logo and is white with no photos?

Offline

#6 2017-10-20 05:16:41

btaylorphoto
Member
Registered: 2015-03-04
Posts: 31

Re: SSL in CE4

Also when I click on a link on the main page that isn't working it goes back to a non https page.

Offline

#7 2017-10-20 05:18:20

charlie.choc
Member
From: Marietta, GA
Registered: 2014-01-09
Posts: 359
Website

Re: SSL in CE4

CE4 Gallery > Output Settings > Shopping Cart Integration: Cart URL

If you look at your page source you might see where it is referencing http assets, you cannot include them in an https page. I converted my site to https but it is a Backlight site so I don't have my CE4 site any more to look at.

Offline

#8 2017-10-20 05:29:53

btaylorphoto
Member
Registered: 2015-03-04
Posts: 31

Re: SSL in CE4

So I have to re export my whole site?

Offline

#9 2017-10-20 05:31:31

charlie.choc
Member
From: Marietta, GA
Registered: 2014-01-09
Posts: 359
Website

Re: SSL in CE4

No, that shouldn't be necessary. I know folks have done it with their CE4 sites, I just don't have one of my own to play with. What is your site URL?

Offline

#10 2017-10-20 05:37:29

btaylorphoto
Member
Registered: 2015-03-04
Posts: 31

Re: SSL in CE4

Offline

#11 2017-10-20 05:51:44

charlie.choc
Member
From: Marietta, GA
Registered: 2014-01-09
Posts: 359
Website

Re: SSL in CE4

Looking at the source it looks like your site root is still http:// and not https://

Offline

#12 2017-10-20 05:57:27

btaylorphoto
Member
Registered: 2015-03-04
Posts: 31

Re: SSL in CE4

Ok so which one is that I have to change?

Offline

#13 2017-10-20 06:00:22

charlie.choc
Member
From: Marietta, GA
Registered: 2014-01-09
Posts: 359
Website

Re: SSL in CE4

http://ce4.theturninggate.net/docs/doku … page_setup

Make sure the site root is https:

Last edited by charlie.choc (2017-10-20 06:03:00)

Offline

#14 2017-10-20 06:02:06

btaylorphoto
Member
Registered: 2015-03-04
Posts: 31

Re: SSL in CE4

ok so I have to re upload my site to change this then.

Offline

#15 2017-10-20 06:04:20

charlie.choc
Member
From: Marietta, GA
Registered: 2014-01-09
Posts: 359
Website

Re: SSL in CE4

No you should just need to change the site root in the settings. instead of http://mysite.com it should be https://mysite.com

Offline

#16 2017-10-20 06:16:00

btaylorphoto
Member
Registered: 2015-03-04
Posts: 31

Re: SSL in CE4

ok part of it worked. I guess I have to re upload all of the pages

Offline

#17 2017-10-20 06:23:06

charlie.choc
Member
From: Marietta, GA
Registered: 2014-01-09
Posts: 359
Website

Re: SSL in CE4

You should only have to reload pages that have hard coded links in them as far as I know.

I have this in mt .htaccess to send all local http requests to https

<IfModule mod_rewrite.c>
    Options +FollowSymLinks
    RewriteEngine On
   
    RewriteCond %{HTTPS} off
    RewriteRule ^(.*)$ https://%{HTTP_HOST}%{REQUEST_URI} [L,R=301]

</IfModule>

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB