Community @ The Turning Gate

Support community for TTG plugins and products.

You are not logged in.

#1 2016-02-09 23:01:55

fwillette
Member
From: Brussels - Belgium
Registered: 2014-05-08
Posts: 124

Unable to publish in a Stage page

Hi everybody

A liitle bit time ago did I create in this site    http://martine-cheval.be    a Stage page called  Oeuvres récentes
These page is located at http://martine-cheval.be/stage-derniers-dessins
I also created a separate Publisher instance with API URL   http://www.martine-cheval.be/ttg-be/publisher/
Also did i create an album called  Default-Album to publish picture on the Stage Page

After a big problem a few monthes ago could I get back almost all site setup but I'm no more able to refresh pictures in these page

Any idea of what is wrong or missing

Thanks

Fredy

Offline

#2 2016-02-09 23:54:17

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 13,073
Website

Re: Unable to publish in a Stage page

Need more details. What big problem happened a few months ago?

This page: http://martine-cheval.be/stage-derniers-dessins is not controlled by Publisher. You cannot use Publisher to update images on this page.
(I corrected the original URL you posted, which didn't work - can you confirm this is the page you're referring to?)


Also did i create an album called  Default-Album to publish picture on the Stage Page

The default album in Publisher (the one that is already there when you create a Publisher instance) is not meant to be used. It should be deleted
http://ce4.theturninggate.net/docs/doku … ith_albums

Besides, you don't create an album to publish to an existing page. Create an album using your Stage template and publish  that album.


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Backlight 1.1.1 test site, Pangolin test site

Offline

#3 2016-02-10 03:21:41

fwillette
Member
From: Brussels - Belgium
Registered: 2014-05-08
Posts: 124

Re: Unable to publish in a Stage page

Hi Rod

Thanks for the answer.

My problem has been discribed here:   http://community.theturninggate.net/top … ngenering/

http://martine-cheval.be/stage-derniers-dessins   is well the page I'm talking about.

You say "This page: http://martine-cheval.be/stage-derniers-dessins is not controlled by Publisher". I don't understand why this page is not, or no more, controlled by publisher. She has been ceated by Stage and exported to the site an it has worked a time.

In my publisher instance, I have this:   API URL   http://www.martine-cheval.be/ttg-be/publisher/  ;  Authentication is checked,  and  Top-level galleries directory: stage-derniers-dessins.

I don't remember how did I publish the first picture, and I'm not able to get info back in the TTG doc how to to it

Offline

#4 2016-02-10 03:50:10

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 13,073
Website

Re: Unable to publish in a Stage page

You say "This page: http://martine-cheval.be/stage-derniers-dessins is not controlled by Publisher". I don't understand why this page is not, or no more, controlled by publisher. She has been ceated by Stage and exported to the site an it has worked a time.

That page was exported from Lightroom and uploaded to the server. I can tell by looking at the source code, specifically this line:

<meta name="generator" content="CE4 Stage 6.1.3, 10 published images" />

if it was created with Publisher it would look like this:

<meta name="generator" content="CE4 Stage 6.1.3, via Publisher" />

In my publisher instance, I have this:   API URL   http://www.martine-cheval.be/ttg-be/publisher/  ;  Authentication is checked,  and  Top-level galleries directory: stage-derniers-dessins.

It doesn't work that way. You can't use an exported Stage page as the top level gallery folder.
It needs to be an exported and uploaded Autoindex page OR it can also be simply an empty folder.

If you're using Pages, you'd use the galleries/ folder as the top-level directory.

See Top Level Galleries Directory on this page: http://ce4.theturninggate.net/docs/doku … r_settings

I don't remember how did I publish the first picture, and I'm not able to get info back in the TTG doc how to to it

Since this is an exported and uploaded Stage page, the images got there because they were in the filmstrip when you exported.


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Backlight 1.1.1 test site, Pangolin test site

Offline

#5 2016-02-10 22:57:27

fwillette
Member
From: Brussels - Belgium
Registered: 2014-05-08
Posts: 124

Re: Unable to publish in a Stage page

Hi Rod

My goal ceating that page was to get a second Gallery page, I thougt the solution was creating a Stage page with galleria slideshow.
Was I wrong?

Offline

#6 2016-02-10 23:40:20

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 13,073
Website

Re: Unable to publish in a Stage page

Yep, wrong wink
If you want a Stage page with a galleria slide show, just create and upload one.

When you say you want a second "Gallery" page, do you mean you want another gallery on your site or did you mean a second gallery index page from which you can access galleries like this page: http://martine-cheval.be/galleries.php


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Backlight 1.1.1 test site, Pangolin test site

Offline

#7 2016-02-11 00:33:29

fwillette
Member
From: Brussels - Belgium
Registered: 2014-05-08
Posts: 124

Re: Unable to publish in a Stage page

rod barbee wrote:

When you say you want a second "Gallery" page, do you mean you want another gallery on your site or did you mean a second gallery index page from which you can access galleries like this page: http://martine-cheval.be/galleries.php

I mean a page in the site, beside the Galleries page, with a single gallery, just like that one   http://martine-cheval.be/stage-derniers-dessins/
in whitch i could easily replace the pictures.

Offline

#8 2016-02-11 00:45:57

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 13,073
Website

Re: Unable to publish in a Stage page

Here's how I would do it.

You're already using Publisher and I assume it's targeted at your galleries/ folder?

In that same Publisher instance, create an album using your Stage template. In the Features tab, check the "Hide from Autoindex" box. This will keep the new album from appearing on your Galleries page.

You can either supply the url directly to people, or you can add a navigation item that leads to this album.
The url to the new album will be /galleries/the-new-album/

Unless you create a new Publisher instance, this is where the album has to go. If you do create a new Publisher instance, then you need to aim it at either an autoindex folder or simply a new empty folder. If it's a new folder, let's say you put it in the root of the site, the url will be: /new-folder/new-album.

Placing the album in a sub-folder, whether it's your galleries/ folder, another autoindex folder, or a plain folder, is the only way to do this with Publisher.

If you want your Galleria slide show to just be in the root of the site, like this link: http://martine-cheval.be/stage-derniers-dessins/ , that can only be done by exporting and uploading. And to update it with new images, you'll need to export and upload again.


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Backlight 1.1.1 test site, Pangolin test site

Offline

#9 2016-03-29 01:50:47

fwillette
Member
From: Brussels - Belgium
Registered: 2014-05-08
Posts: 124

Re: Unable to publish in a Stage page

rod barbee wrote:

Here's how I would do it.

You're already using Publisher and I assume it's targeted at your galleries/ folder?

In that same Publisher instance, create an album using your Stage template. In the Features tab, check the "Hide from Autoindex" box. This will keep the new album from appearing on your Galleries page.

You can either supply the url directly to people, or you can add a navigation item that leads to this album.
The url to the new album will be /galleries/the-new-album/

Thanks Rod
That seems to be exactly what I was looking for. I tried it in a new Pages configuration and it works fine but...
When I update Pages element do I get other issues, like loosing the Flip gallery on my home page. Seems there is allways a mismatch in my site between old version (from backup) and new plugins.
Whatever, I think the site could work pretty good if I could manually, using ftp,change the URL of "Oeuvres récentes" page from martine-cheval.be/stage-derniers-dessins/ to martine-cheval.be/galleries/stage-derniers dessins/. I searched in many files but could not find where to do the change. Is that possible?

Offline

#10 2016-03-29 02:22:52

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 13,073
Website

Re: Unable to publish in a Stage page

if you're using Publisher you can't manually change urls via FTP

If it's an exported and uploaded file, just move it via FTP to the galleries/ folder

When I update Pages element do I get other issues, like loosing the Flip gallery on my home page. Seems there is allways a mismatch in my site between old version (from backup) and new plugins.

not sure what you mean. There is a flip gallery at this page right now: http://martine-cheval.be/index.php
It appears to be a Stage page via Publisher (Publisher replacing your home page)


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Backlight 1.1.1 test site, Pangolin test site

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB