Community @ The Turning Gate

Support community for TTG plugins and products.

You are not logged in.

#1 2016-02-09 22:50:31

awjensen
Member
Registered: 2013-03-18
Posts: 33

Error message when publishing images

When I publish an album, I get an error part way through the upload of images.

Error: Can't update this collection
Error uploading rendition
Unable to complete the action.

I have tried to delete the album and start over. The error does not seem to be related to any particular image.

BTW my web site is photos.creditech.ca
I can't figure out how to attach an image of the complete error message to this post.

Offline

#2 2016-02-09 23:40:21

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 12,937
Website

Re: Error message when publishing images

on including images in your post:
http://community.theturninggate.net/vie … hp?id=5223


That error sometimes indicate php upload limits when uploading hi-res images:
http://community.theturninggate.net/vie … php?id=442

Also see:
http://ce4.theturninggate.net/docs/doku … g_for_help

Last edited by rod barbee (2016-04-05 05:41:40)


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Backlight 1.1.1 test site, Pangolin test site

Offline

#3 2016-02-10 03:49:02

awjensen
Member
Registered: 2013-03-18
Posts: 33

Re: Error message when publishing images

Downloaded and updated the web templates and the publisher plug in. I was uneasy updating the 'ttg-be' folder and the 'publisher' folder on the server since I could not find any instructions other than the instructions to upgrade from CE3 to CE4 instructions. I would like to update the server files if I could.

Anyway all is working now. Thanks Rod! smile

Offline

#4 2016-02-10 03:53:39

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 12,937
Website

Re: Error message when publishing images

update instructions are included in the readme.txt files included in the downloads. Instructions are also in the change logs for each component:
TTG-BE: http://ce4.theturninggate.net/docs/doku … _changelog
Publisher: http://ce4.theturninggate.net/docs/doku … _changelog

I would like to update the server files if I could.

What do you mean?


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Backlight 1.1.1 test site, Pangolin test site

Offline

#5 2016-04-05 05:31:45

Muetdhiver
New Member
Registered: 2016-04-05
Posts: 2

Re: Error message when publishing images

Hello,
in #2 links are broken : could you fix it (I have the same trouble). Cannot find them using the search or Google. I use v2.3.3.
Thanks !

Offline

#6 2016-04-05 05:42:12

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 12,937
Website

Re: Error message when publishing images

looks like a bug in the transfer to the new forum software. I've updated those links


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Backlight 1.1.1 test site, Pangolin test site

Offline

#7 2016-04-06 04:14:57

Muetdhiver
New Member
Registered: 2016-04-05
Posts: 2

Re: Error message when publishing images

Hello,
thanks for your quick answer ! But the bug  seems to be deeper. http://community.theturninggate.net/vie … php?id=442 has a link (http://community.theturninggate.net/post/2303/#p2303 ), wich is also broken. When you make a search in google you find also a lot of broken links.

Offline

#8 2016-04-06 04:34:51

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 12,937
Website

Re: Error message when publishing images

I can't track down that specific post right now. But the gist of it is that your php.ini file may have an upload limit that is too small for publishing hi-res images (or lots of images at a time). It's an easy fix. You'll need to edit the php.ini file on your server and search for Uploads. That should take you to a section named "File Uploads". Look for a setting named max_file_uploads=

the easiest way to edit may be to use FTP and download it on your computer. Then open with a plain text editor, make the change, save, and upload back to the server.

If you need more info, just google "php.ini upload limit", you'll find a lot.

Hopefully that's it if not, see this page:
http://ce4.theturninggate.net/docs/doku … g_for_help


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Backlight 1.1.1 test site, Pangolin test site

Offline

#9 2016-04-06 23:40:44

kmlucy
Member
From: Atlanta, GA
Registered: 2013-01-30
Posts: 101
Website

Re: Error message when publishing images

Also, are you hosting with GoDaddy? There is a known issue with them that presents like this; see these topics:

http://community.theturninggate.net/vie … hp?id=5217
http://community.theturninggate.net/vie … hp?id=4537


Kyle Lucy Photography
kylelucy.com

Offline

#10 2016-05-07 06:36:24

kim_uk1
Member
Registered: 2016-05-07
Posts: 9

Re: Error message when publishing images

Yes I am kmlucy and thanks for the advice.
I am on with chat as we speak.  Fingers crossed they'll sort it

my request is as follows (for anyone else having the same issue)

"Can you please white list my IP address for the mod_security on the GoDaddy hosting service

The standard mod_sec rules are too restrictive and trigger a denial-of-service block on any Publisher submissions (within Adobe Lightroom)

Changing mod_security / whitelisting my IP should revolve the issues with any domain / add on domains I have
thus allowing 4x.25x.20x.1xx (my current IP address) that is accessing a script repeatedly over a short period of time during publishing of a photo album to NOT be blocked."

Offline

#11 2016-05-10 12:39:55

ttg-jim
Member
Registered: 2014-08-22
Posts: 40

Re: Error message when publishing images

The trouble with whitelisting an IP address is that it is short-lived, unless you are rich enough to have a static one...

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB