Community @ The Turning Gate

Support community for TTG plugins and products.

You are not logged in.

#1 2015-10-12 00:06:31

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 12,644
Website

More Lightroom 6.2 / CC2015.2 weirdness

Other than the new and abysmal Import dialog (and some crashing bugs that are supposedly fixed in the 6.2.1 / CC2015.2.1 updates) has anyone experience any unusual behavior in the Web Module?

For me, it seems to be running slow. When I change between saved galleries I'll often see the right hand panel change, yet the preview remains on old gallery or index or whatever I had opened before.

Clicking the refresh button or using CTRL-R sometimes doesn't work and I have to quit Lightroom and restart.

Just seeing if others are seeing the same thing before I report it as a bug (not that I expect Adobe to do anything about it...)


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Backlight test site

Offline

#2 2015-10-12 20:14:43

alfred
Member
Registered: 2013-06-08
Posts: 99

Re: More Lightroom 6.2 / CC2015.2 weirdness

After I switched to LR 6.2.1 I got problems importing a catalog from my Ultrabook. When I go on a birding tour I usually create a new catalog on my Ultrabook and import and edit my shots while I am on the move. Being back home I export the catalog and import it to my main machine (and copy the source files off course). Doing this worked fine up to 6.1.1. Under 6.2.1 LR goes into a "heaving processing" state using up to 90% processing power and never returns ...
So I rolled back to 6.1.1. Doing this involved deinstalling 6.2.1 and reinstalling 6.1.1 - and all my web-templates were gone. I thought no problem, as I frequently back-up my entire C-Drive using Acronis True Image. When I opened the last backup, the shock was huge when I recognised that there were no web-templates in the directory I had expected them to be. I still do not know what happened, because they were usable up to the last moment before I installed the 6.2.1 update. It is pure luck that I had copied my templates a couple of months ago, when I helped my daughter setting up her web-site. I am telling this to keep everybody alerted who wants to roll back to LR 6.1.1 => BACK UP YOUR TEMPLATES BEFORE DEINSTALLING, actually back them up frequently.
By the way, if it motivates you maintaining your great support work: I have a couple fo spare d's for you Roddddddddd :-)
Cheers from Downunder. Alfred

Last edited by alfred (2015-10-12 20:16:00)

Offline

#3 2015-10-12 21:39:29

Ben
Moderator
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2012-09-29
Posts: 3,059

Re: More Lightroom 6.2 / CC2015.2 weirdness

Hi Rod, is that the 'October' update of Lightroom?  I haven't upgraded it yet.  Is it best avoided for now?

Offline

#4 2015-10-12 21:48:12

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 12,644
Website

Re: More Lightroom 6.2 / CC2015.2 weirdness

I'd avoid for now. Victoria Bampton has more on her blog
http://www.lightroomqueen.com/blog/

I'm thinking about rolling back if the web module quirkiness I've encountered continues

Plus I hate the new Import dialog


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Backlight test site

Offline

#5 2015-10-12 22:38:43

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 12,644
Website

Re: More Lightroom 6.2 / CC2015.2 weirdness

By the way, if it motivates you maintaining your great support work: I have a couple fo spare d's for you Roddddddddd :-)
Cheers from Downunder. Alfred

Hah!  smile


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Backlight test site

Offline

#6 2015-10-12 22:59:41

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 12,644
Website

Re: More Lightroom 6.2 / CC2015.2 weirdness

And there's this conversation going on over at Victoria's forum on the possibility of LR 6.2.1/cc2015.2.1 corrupting catalogs
http://www.lightroomforums.net/showthre … LR-catalog


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Backlight test site

Offline

#7 2015-10-13 09:47:16

Ben
Moderator
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2012-09-29
Posts: 3,059

Re: More Lightroom 6.2 / CC2015.2 weirdness

Wow, impressive stuff.  The lack of import destination details is a show stopper for me.  I always import to an external drive, which is only plugged in during import, a detail I need to be able to check.

Offline

#8 2015-10-17 22:48:22

fwillette
Member
From: Brussels - Belgium
Registered: 2014-05-08
Posts: 124

Re: More Lightroom 6.2 / CC2015.2 weirdness

Hi Rod

I confirm, the web module seems realy to be slower, and the appearence of the engine selecting pannel has also been changed, not sure it is better....  More, there are new templates, but I'm not able to find where they are stored.

B.r.

Fredy

Offline

#9 2015-10-18 00:30:00

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 12,644
Website

Re: More Lightroom 6.2 / CC2015.2 weirdness

Good news! Adobe is going to return us to the good ol' days of an Import screen that does all the things!
http://www.lightroomqueen.com/adobe-are … ld-import/


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Backlight test site

Offline

#10 2015-10-18 00:33:20

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 12,644
Website

Re: More Lightroom 6.2 / CC2015.2 weirdness

fwillette wrote:

Hi Rod

I confirm, the web module seems realy to be slower, and the appearence of the engine selecting pannel has also been changed, not sure it is better....  More, there are new templates, but I'm not able to find where they are stored.

B.r.

Fredy

Well, I hope that when Adobe comes out with the next fix (to fix the fix they just fixed?) that the Web Module performance will improve. Or at least go back to only mildly frustrating.

I hadn't heard about new templates. Have you looked in the Template Browser? I'm seeing "Classic Gallery Templates" and "Grid Gallery Templates" and "Square Gallery Templates", etc. I don't recall if they were there before the 6.2 update or not.


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Backlight test site

Offline

#11 2015-10-18 00:49:33

fwillette
Member
From: Brussels - Belgium
Registered: 2014-05-08
Posts: 124

Re: More Lightroom 6.2 / CC2015.2 weirdness

Hi Rod

I'm not sure whitch templates were there earlear, but there are also "Track" templates and I'm quite sure thsese are new, but it's not realy important. It was for my personnal teaching.

Fredy

Offline

#12 2015-10-20 05:56:03

Matthew
Administrator
From: Seoul, South Korea
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 4,668
Website

Re: More Lightroom 6.2 / CC2015.2 weirdness

Those templates, and the corresponding layout styles, were added with 6.0. They're not nearly as good as what we have to offer, IMHO. ;-)


Campagna Pictures, http://campagnapictures.com
The Turning Gate, http://theturninggate.net

Offline

#13 2015-10-31 08:05:06

jherman
Member
From: Kingsport, TN USA
Registered: 2012-12-09
Posts: 62
Website

Re: More Lightroom 6.2 / CC2015.2 weirdness

For what it's worth I am running LR 2015.2.1 with the GPU activated on a Windows 10 box with i7, 64Gb RAM, OS and apps on an SSD, a relatively new Radeon 390x video board, latest not beta drivers, and 3 4k monitors. I see a little load time difference in the web module. I would hope for faster but can live with it.

Regarding the Import module, I changed my workflow for importing images and rather than mucking around with explorer or some other third party app, I now do everything in LR. First step just get them into the catalog, I use a generic directory for all incoming photos. Then use the tools already in LR to add GPS coordinates either directly in the map module or with Jf''s geoencoder plugin, change name using LR F2 key and move to permanent storage. Done. And faster.

Worth reevaluating your own workflows periodically. Do the reasons for the current workflow still exist? Is there a better way?

Last edited by jherman (2015-10-31 23:36:56)


User with too little time but coding is therapeutic.

Offline

#14 2015-11-01 05:01:25

hjrw
Member
From: Peoria (Phoenix) AZ
Registered: 2012-10-01
Posts: 111

Re: More Lightroom 6.2 / CC2015.2 weirdness

rod barbee wrote:

And there's this conversation going on over at Victoria's forum on the possibility of LR 6.2.1/cc2015.2.1 corrupting catalogs
http://www.lightroomforums.net/showthre … LR-catalog


Rod

Is it possible that this catalog corruption issue may have caused my loss of Publisher Albums the other day?  If so, maybe I was lucky that the previous day's backup was OK...

Offline

#15 2015-11-01 05:45:07

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 12,644
Website

Re: More Lightroom 6.2 / CC2015.2 weirdness

I have no idea


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Backlight test site

Offline

#16 2015-11-01 05:55:00

Ben
Moderator
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2012-09-29
Posts: 3,059

Re: More Lightroom 6.2 / CC2015.2 weirdness

I have yet do upgrade.  As a developer, I depend on a reliable LR.  The updates would make me very nervous if I was a professional photographer with a business that depended on it.

Offline

#17 2015-11-01 06:04:26

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 12,644
Website

Re: More Lightroom 6.2 / CC2015.2 weirdness

I've not experienced too many problems other than the web module seeming to be a bit slower and that it sometimes refuses to change the view in the preview area until I quit and restart Lightroom. No problems with catalog integrity. Yet.


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Backlight test site

Offline

#18 2015-11-18 07:01:19

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 12,644
Website

Re: More Lightroom 6.2 / CC2015.2 weirdness

Woo Hoo! Lightroom has been updated to CC 2015.3 / 6.3 and the old Import dialog is back!

Nice to see a big company listening to its users.

more from The Lightroom Queen: http://www.lightroomqueen.com/whats-new … troom-6-3/


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Backlight test site

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB