Community @ The Turning Gate

Support community for TTG plugins and products.

You are not logged in.

#1 2015-07-02 19:48:22

ShawWellPete
Member
Registered: 2013-03-24
Posts: 111

Using video in CE4 Pages

I may be able to get hold of a drone and take some gopro video of www.villabegur.com and if I do, I would like to add it to the website which I created using CE4 Pages and Gallery.

I may decide to make the home page a video rather than a slidehow or to have the video as a separate page. Any idea how I could go about doing this using CE4?

Offline

#2 2015-07-02 21:21:58

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 13,161
Website

Re: Using video in CE4 Pages

Use CE4 Stage


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Backlight 1.1.1 test site, Pangolin test site

Offline

#3 2015-07-02 21:41:45

ShawWellPete
Member
Registered: 2013-03-24
Posts: 111

Re: Using video in CE4 Pages

Thanks Rod, the http://ce4.theturninggate.net/docs/doku … _ce4_stage site is down so I'm trying to work it out.

Is there a way to make the home page from CE4 Pages a page created by CE4 Stage?

Offline

#4 2015-07-02 21:54:02

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 13,161
Website

Re: Using video in CE4 Pages

Is there a way to make the home page from CE4 Pages a page created by CE4 Stage?

Yes. By using Publisher to replace the Home Page:
http://ce4.theturninggate.net/docs/doku … _home_page

And each "video" section of the Stage documentation shows how to manage the video with Publisher. For example:
http://ce4.theturninggate.net/docs/doku … _publisher

Thanks Rod, the http://ce4.theturninggate.net/docs/doku … _ce4_stage site is down so I'm trying to work it out.

That's just for an about page that hasn't been created yet.


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Backlight 1.1.1 test site, Pangolin test site

Offline

#5 2016-09-01 01:02:37

ShawWellPete
Member
Registered: 2013-03-24
Posts: 111

Re: Using video in CE4 Pages

Hey guys, I have finally got out there and shot some footage, put it on youtube and am thinking about changing the site to have a video splash screen. I have not got around to upgrading the page to backlight yet. Is using CE4 Stage still the best way of doing this or would I be better off upgrading the site to backlight first?

Offline

#6 2016-09-01 18:10:20

ShawWellPete
Member
Registered: 2013-03-24
Posts: 111

Re: Using video in CE4 Pages

I'm also considering changing the home page to one created in Wordpress (CE4 theme), will CE4 Pages allow me to do that?

Last edited by ShawWellPete (2016-09-01 18:10:31)

Offline

#7 2016-09-01 19:13:55

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 13,161
Website

Re: Using video in CE4 Pages

You really wouldn't need Pages anymore
http://ce4.theturninggate.net/docs/doku.php?id=ce4_102


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Backlight 1.1.1 test site, Pangolin test site

Offline

#8 2016-09-01 19:29:33

ShawWellPete
Member
Registered: 2013-03-24
Posts: 111

Re: Using video in CE4 Pages

rod barbee wrote:

You really wouldn't need Pages anymore
http://ce4.theturninggate.net/docs/doku.php?id=ce4_102

Hi Rod,

Could you please elaborate? There's a lot of info on that page and I'm not sure what you're suggesting?

Offline

#9 2016-09-01 21:12:02

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 13,161
Website

Re: Using video in CE4 Pages

That tutorial shows how to use WordPress as your home page and how to tie in the navigation in WP to you TTG generated indexes and galleries.


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Backlight 1.1.1 test site, Pangolin test site

Offline

#10 2016-09-06 17:33:10

ShawWellPete
Member
Registered: 2013-03-24
Posts: 111

Re: Using video in CE4 Pages

Thanks Rod, I have been having a go at doing that on a test environment and I am nearly there (http://www.villabegur.com/VBWP/)

One more question, in order to set it up correctly I need to define the root directory within the settings of the web module. So when beta testing in a sub directory, I set it for that and then would have to change it when I go live.

Ideally I would like to set up a test environment in a subdirectory, test it so it works, and then just change my domain settings so the domain points to that subdirectory.

Is there a way to do that?

Offline

#11 2016-09-06 17:54:21

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 13,161
Website

Re: Using video in CE4 Pages

Ideally I would like to set up a test environment in a subdirectory, test it so it works, and then just change my domain settings so the domain points to that subdirectory.

Is there a way to do that?

seems that in the past, redirects caused problems, so I don't really know. Matt probably would though.


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Backlight 1.1.1 test site, Pangolin test site

Offline

#12 2016-09-06 18:43:53

ShawWellPete
Member
Registered: 2013-03-24
Posts: 111

Re: Using video in CE4 Pages

rod barbee wrote:

Ideally I would like to set up a test environment in a subdirectory, test it so it works, and then just change my domain settings so the domain points to that subdirectory.

Is there a way to do that?

seems that in the past, redirects caused problems, so I don't really know. Matt probably would though.

I have just had a thought, this could be dangerous...

The old site was made in pages using some phplugins and works really well www.villabegur.com and the only thing I want to change is the home page to be the wordpress one (http://www.villabegur.com/VBWP/). If I just copied the stuff from the wordpress directory, excluding the galleries  directory, so I would overwrite the index.php but not the other .php files (info, galleries, services etc) would that not give me what I want?

Offline

#13 2016-09-06 20:23:59

ShawWellPete
Member
Registered: 2013-03-24
Posts: 111

Re: Using video in CE4 Pages

yep - that was a stupid idea. trying to turn the clock back...

Offline

#14 2016-09-07 06:11:30

ShawWellPete
Member
Registered: 2013-03-24
Posts: 111

Re: Using video in CE4 Pages

OK, so I managed to get a working wordpress install on a subdirectory with the video looking great, I then messed up my WP install by copying stuff around by FTP.

I'm going to start again, but I would like to set it up in a test environment and the move my pointers later which brings me back to this question...

ShawWellPete wrote:

One more question, in order to set it up correctly I need to define the root directory within the settings of the web module. So when beta testing in a sub directory, I set it for that and then would have to change it when I go live.

Ideally I would like to set up a test environment in a subdirectory, test it so it works, and then just change my domain settings so the domain points to that subdirectory.

Is there a way to do that?

Offline

#15 2016-09-07 19:54:16

ShawWellPete
Member
Registered: 2013-03-24
Posts: 111

Re: Using video in CE4 Pages

Hey guys, I am back again....

I have my old site sitting untouched in a subdirectory in my root htdocs and I am trying to install the Wordpress version to another subdirectory. I can then change the pointer to either directory so the URL www.villabegur.com points to either the new version or the old version.

I have tried to set a subdomain to point to the wordpress site while testing but the first thing wordpress does is load whatever site is defined in the URL.

Here is my problem

I like everything about the current site apart from I would like Index.html to be defined by wordpress so that I can have a background video on it.

Can I copy all the other pages from my old version (created by TTG Pages CE4) into my wordpress sit?

Any other ideas?

Offline

#16 2016-09-07 21:06:20

Matthew
Administrator
From: Seoul, South Korea
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 4,958
Website

Re: Using video in CE4 Pages

If you used CE4 Publisher, then the site won't like being moved.

Otherwise, this tutorial shows one way in which CE4 can be set up to run with Wordpress:
http://ce4.theturninggate.net/docs/doku.php?id=ce4_102


Campagna Pictures, http://campagnapictures.com
The Turning Gate, http://theturninggate.net

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB