Community @ The Turning Gate

Support community for TTG plugins and products.

You are not logged in.

#1 2015-02-28 05:34:21

hjrw
Member
From: Peoria (Phoenix) AZ
Registered: 2012-10-01
Posts: 111

Panoramas in galleries and stage

I have several large panoramas as part of my Albums in galleries.  On display they are scaled to fit the screen.  Is there a way to provide a button or menu item on the footer or header of the page where the full size image is displayed (upon clicking on an image in the grid) to enable Stage to display a scroll-able full sized panorama?

Offline

#2 2015-02-28 06:04:17

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 12,728
Website

Re: Panoramas in galleries and stage

If you're asking for a button on the large image presentation or display page, then no.

But what you can do is provide a text link in the gallery itself to a stage page that displays one or more panoramas.

Another idea is to use Autoindex or an Album Set as a gallery of Stage panorama pages.


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Backlight test site

Offline

#3 2015-02-28 12:33:08

hjrw
Member
From: Peoria (Phoenix) AZ
Registered: 2012-10-01
Posts: 111

Re: Panoramas in galleries and stage

I set up an instance of stage for the panorama.  I created a virtual copy and cropped the panorama to 16:9.  I have it before the full panorama in the filmstrip.  The displayed image is stretched vertically (it is the cropped image).  On the web, the image is similarly distorted and does not move... only the indicator moves.

I don't see any adjustment for image size on the stage "page."  What have I missed?

Here's what I have...   www.rt-66.com/stage-rt66-ca

Last edited by hjrw (2015-02-28 13:08:01)

Offline

#4 2015-02-28 15:38:29

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 12,728
Website

Re: Panoramas in galleries and stage

the images need to be of equal height.
your pano is 180px high
the placeholder is 576px high.


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Backlight test site

Offline

#5 2015-02-28 16:07:52

hjrw
Member
From: Peoria (Phoenix) AZ
Registered: 2012-10-01
Posts: 111

Re: Panoramas in galleries and stage

I cropped the images in Develop, and updated the Stage template, exported it and FTP'd it to the server.  As  seen here, the images were both 3462 height.  When I update the template and export and upload,  they get resized (in this case to 1024x576 and 1022x144).  Any ideas?

stage.jpg

Last edited by hjrw (2015-02-28 16:20:16)

Offline

#6 2015-02-28 16:13:03

Matthew
Administrator
From: Seoul, South Korea
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 4,695
Website

Re: Panoramas in galleries and stage

Probably the pano being far wider than the maximum width that the gallery supports. In maintaining the aspect ratio, the pano is getting down-sized quite a lot. Currently, the plugin allows images to export at a maximum 15000px wide.

For panos, I usually suggest setting the width to maximum, then using the height slider to manage the overall size of the image. Might take some trial and error to get it right.


Campagna Pictures, http://campagnapictures.com
The Turning Gate, http://theturninggate.net

Offline

#7 2015-02-28 16:23:26

hjrw
Member
From: Peoria (Phoenix) AZ
Registered: 2012-10-01
Posts: 111

Re: Panoramas in galleries and stage

If I have several panos on the page, what do I set the height to?  Or do I need to somehow use stage as an autoindex and have several stage instances... one for each pano?

Offline

#8 2015-02-28 18:38:05

hjrw
Member
From: Peoria (Phoenix) AZ
Registered: 2012-10-01
Posts: 111

Re: Panoramas in galleries and stage

Matt

Thanks for the info.  I have it now.  I just need to automate it with Publisher (how do I do that?).  These are the steps that I took.  If there is a more streamlined method, please let me know.

To create panoramas in Stage

(1) If width of photo is greater than 15000, export image resizing it to 15000 width
(2) If width of photo is less than 15000, export the image at it's current size
(3) Note the height of the photo
(4) Create a virtual copy of the photo
(5) Crop the virtual copy in Develop to 16:9 aspect ratio (this photo is the placeholder)
(6) Export the cropped photo and resize it to the height noted in (3) above
(7) Delete the virtual copy from the Collection
(8) Import the pairs of photos and place in a new Collection
(9) Display the new Collection
(10) Assure that the order of the photos is "placeholder image" followed by "panoramic image"
(11) In the Web module open the Stage Template that was previously created for the panoramas
(12) Export the Stage Template
(13) FTP the Stage Template to the server

Thanks again

Offline

#9 2015-03-01 01:24:35

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 12,728
Website

Re: Panoramas in galleries and stage

Or do I need to somehow use stage as an autoindex and have several stage instances... one for each pano?

Stage can't be an autoindex.
but you can use Autoindex to hold Stage pages. Like Matt has done here with the Stage demos
http://ce4.theturninggate.net/demos/ce4-stage/
the page is an autoindex, but all the galleries within are Stage pages.


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Backlight test site

Offline

#10 2015-03-01 02:37:50

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 12,728
Website

Re: Panoramas in galleries and stage

I just need to automate it with Publisher (how do I do that?).

Just like any other album. Pick your pair of images, make sure they're in the correct order, and create an album.

If you have huge panos you could first export them from Lightroom into the same folder or sub-folder perhaps  and check the box to add them to the catalog. (create an export preset for this) Then use those panos in your Stage albums.


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Backlight test site

Offline

#11 2015-03-02 08:20:10

Matthew
Administrator
From: Seoul, South Korea
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 4,695
Website

Re: Panoramas in galleries and stage

Sounds like you're on the right track. The virtual copy is what I do; take the pano, crop it to a 16:9 aspect ratio for the placeholder, etc.


Campagna Pictures, http://campagnapictures.com
The Turning Gate, http://theturninggate.net

Offline

#12 2015-10-12 03:21:57

dvdfan001
Member
Registered: 2014-04-27
Posts: 157

Re: Panoramas in galleries and stage

Stage can't be an autoindex.
but you can use Autoindex to hold Stage pages. Like Matt has done here with the Stage demos
http://ce4.theturninggate.net/demos/ce4-stage/
the page is an autoindex, but all the galleries within are Stage pages.

Could you please give an instruction how to set this up?

Offline

#13 2015-10-12 03:29:44

rod barbee
Moderator
From: Port Ludlow, WA USA
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 12,728
Website

Re: Panoramas in galleries and stage

export an autoindex. Name it panoramas.
Upload it to your site.
Upload your stage pages to the panoramas/ folder


Rod 
Just a user with way too much time on his hands.
www.rodbarbee.com
ttg-tips.com, Backlight test site

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB